Discussion Sundays: Are annual reading challenges helpful or discouraging?

Discussion Sundays (2)

As always, “Discussion Sundays” will help me get to know all of you better and for us bibliophiles to be honest with each other, without judging or comparing ourselves to anyone else. The only things I will ask for everyone to do is to a) be true to yourself, even if your answers/reasons aren’t the same as mine/anybody else’s I would LOVE to hear it! b) be respectful to each other and don’t negatively criticize people’s comments/opinions. Without further ado, let’s get right on to our topic!

Continue reading

Audiobook Review: More Happy Than Not

19542841More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

Series: Standalone

Published by Soho Teen on June 2, 2015

Genres: Contemporary, Diversity, Fiction, LGBT+, Love & Romance, Mental Health, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 293

Format: Audiobook

Rating: 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?

Continue reading

Mini Book Reviews: Unite Me (Destroy Me, Fracture Me)

Book Reviews (1)

18481271Unite Me (Fracture Me & Destroy Me) by Tahereh Mafi

Series: The Shatter Me Series #1.5, #2.5

Published by Harper Teen on February 4, 2014

Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Fiction, Love & Romance, Paranormal, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Format: Paperback, Purchased

Pages: 197

Rating: (Destroy Me) | (Fracture Me)

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestsellingShatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Mefrom Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent andThe Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

Continue reading

Book Review: Ignite Me

Book Reviews

13188676Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Series: The Shatter Me Series #3

Published by Harper Collins on February 4, 2014

Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Fiction, Love & Romance, Paranormal, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 421

Rating:

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

The heart-stopping conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Shatter Me series, which Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, called “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love.”

With Omega Point destroyed, Juliette doesn’t know if the rebels, her friends, or even Adam are alive. But that won’t keep her from trying to take down The Reestablishment once and for all. Now she must rely on Warner, the handsome commander of Sector 45. The one person she never thought she could trust. The same person who saved her life. He promises to help Juliette master her powers and save their dying world . . . but that’s not all he wants with her.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent by Veronica Roth, The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, and Legend by Marie Lu. Tahereh Mafi has created a captivating and original story that combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, and was praised by Publishers Weekly as “a gripping read from an author who’s not afraid to take risks.” Now this final book brings the series to a shocking and satisfying end.

Continue reading