Favourites of 2015

Hello everyone,

For my first bookish post, I want to share with you my favourite books of 2015. Last year was definitely the year that got me back into reading, and I haven’t been able to stop since 🙂 I actually have no idea how many books I read but I decided to create a Goodreads account this year to keep track. These are going to be in order from number 12 (my least favourite) to number 1 ( my absolute favourite) *Note: These are just the books I read in 2015, and were not necessarily published in 2015. Without further ado, these are the books that made my year extra memorable!

Illuminae Ray V6FrontOnlyA2A_V3.inddNumber 12: Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff 

This book was by far the most unique book I have ever read. Told through IMs, emails, surveillance camera footages, interview transcripts, and diary entries, this book is definitely visually stunning. Filled with action from the very first page, you are in for a ride that you will never forget. The only complaint I have about Illuminae is the fact that I had to wait until around 200 pages or so to get the hang of the writing style and truly feel for the characters. Other than that, it was fantastic!

Rating: ★★★★

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

#11Number 11: The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

This book was the very first Patrick Ness book I have ever read. AND I CANNOT WAIT TO READ MORE. Although the story is told from the perspective of a 13 year old boy, this book dealt with such mature themes and dark underlaying tones. It indirectly mentions so many of the things that society really has to talk about; such as sexism, slavery, dehumanization, racism and much more. The characters are all around wonderful and I absolutely ADORED Manchee with all of my heart.

Rating: ★★★★.25

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

17668473Number 10: Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

If you know anything about me, you know that I am a total history nerd. Along with fantasy, historical fiction is the genre that makes me feel the most happy and excited to read about. So you can say that I was ecstatic to finally have this book in my hands. And guess what? I was not disappointed. Prisoner of Night and Fog ultimately took the most controversial topic, WWII and completely altered it into a thrilling murder mystery. The main character, Gretchen is the “niece” of the infamous Adolf Hitler, she is veiled by his charming smile and kind words that she does not realize what his true motives are. Then one day, she meets a jewish reporter who tells her the harsh truth. Gretchen soon finds herself conflicted between the lies that she has heard for all of her life and the truth that she must unmask. One of my favourite parts of the story was Gretchen’s brother, Reinhard. He is truly one of the scariest characters I have ever read about. I swear, when you get to his parts in the story, you will want to sleep with the lights on.

Rating: ★★★★.25

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

71N-hAxibZLNumber 9: Anna and the French Kiss Companion Trilogy by Stephanie Perkins 

The Anna and the French Kiss Companion Trilogy by Stephanie Perkins is on this list mainly because of how happy these stories made me. Sure, these aren’t the most well written books but I grantee that you will squeal, smile, and die a little while consumed with the thought that you are Anna, Lola, and Isla. Out of the three, Isla was my favourite because of the ending but I also really enjoyed both Anna and Lola. I feel that for this series, it really depends on who you connect to the most. Read all three and I promise you can turn that frown upside down! ❤

Rating: ★★★★.25 (overall- Each book is a little different)

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

10929432Number 8: The Archived by Victoria Schwab 

So after I read this book, I immediately hated myself. Why oh why didn’t I read more of Victoria Schwab’s writing? Why did I push her to the bottom of my TBR for half a year? WHYYYY??? If you are new to her books or even if you aren’t, I strongly recommend you to check out this duology. The premise is by far one of the most interesting and though provoking fantasies I have read (Storing dead people on shelves? Count me in!) and the writing is exquisitely beautiful. I couldn’t stop reading, and I devoured this book in one sitting. What are you waiting for? Go pick it up!!!

Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

 

15749186Number 7: To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han 

Ahh, we have come to another adorable, squeal worthy contemporary. TATBILB is all about Laura Jean, who I must admit can seem a little childish and annoying at first. But once you get into her character and learn more about her family situation, you will fall in love with every single part of the story. My favourite element was definitely the family dynamic within the Song sisters. All of the characters felt alive and touchable. The sister bond killed me every chapter, and I swear, I was hoping for siblings that I never knew I wanted.

Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

download.jpegNumber 6: Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

Fangirl, was my first book by the famous Rainbow Rowell, and it will most definitely not be my last. This book has definitely landed in my all time favourite contemporary list, loveable but filled with valuable lessons sprinkled throughout the fun. The diversity of the characters were amazing, and I loved the fact that Cath was not the typical “pretty”, skinny, confident girl but rather insecure, quiet, and realistic. I could at times relate to Cath as if she was me, obsessed with Simon and Baz (Harry Potter in my case) and wanting to rather stay at home and read than go to a party with friends. I definitely recommend Fangirl to those who are looking for something real to read about and truly connect to.

Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Now, we are down to the nitty, gritty top 5. It was SO hard to pick between these books but I tried my best for you guys 😀

61BcvUoJGML._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_Number 5: An Ember In the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir 

So for number 5, An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. This book (*takes a deep breath*) was extraordinary. I could not believe my eyes when I found out that this was Sabaa’s debut novel.  The award for the best debut hands down goes to her for this amazing, amazing book. This story has elements of Ancient Rome, filled with action, and terrifying villains. Sabaa does not sugarcoat anything making this book oh so thrilling. It is told in a duel perspective, alternating chapters from Laia who is a slave and Elias who is a solider during this cruel, violent time. I believe it is even better when you go into it blind, so that is all you need to know before picking this one up.

Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

17788403Number 4: Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

Maybe Someday was my introduction to the genre of New Adult and I could not be anymore grateful that this was the first book I picked. Colleen Hoover’s writing style deserves all the praise in the world. The characters were so alive and real, and I just wanted to hug Ridge the whole dang time. He has definitely made it to my list of fictional boyfriends <3<3<3  I played this track list while reading the wonderful novel (which was specifically created for this purpose) and I definitely recommend it as it enhances your entire experience. If you haven’t picked up a book by this wonderful author, I don’t know what you are doing with your life. (just kidding, haha :D)

Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

 

17675462Number 3: The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

So first off, I must admit, I was totally skeptical about this book. It was mostly because I had heard so many mixed reviews on Stiefvater’s shiver series that I didn’t know if I should give this book a try. And I am so glad I did. The characters in The Raven Boys were fantastic, I loved each and every Raven Boy dearly.  I must admit though I am a little biased towards Ronan, complex characters like him will always be my weakness *sighs* The beginning is a little slow, but don’t let that fool you, it was so beautifully written that I was hung up on every single word. I also don’t want to say too much about this magical book as this is another one to go in blind, but another point to win over your heart is that the ending is absolutely on point.

Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

ill-give-you-the-sunNumber 2: I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

I have never expected that so many contemporaries would have landed on my favourites of 2015, yet here they are. I’ll Give You The Sun is in one word: gorgeous. The writing is seamless, the characters are intricate and the plot takes you to so many different places that your head will spin. (in a good way <3) I truly cannot recommend this book enough! You will fall in love with the twins and will not want to leave their beautiful world.

Rating: ★★★★★

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The_Book_Thief_by_Markus_Zusak_book_cover.jpgNumber 1: The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

THIS BOOK… THIS BOOK… THIS BOOK!!! I am honestly so so mad that I haven’t picked this up sooner!!! I actually procrastinated reading this book because deep inside, I knew how sad this was going to make me. And yes, it was the first book ever to  make me cry but it was so worth all of the tears. The Book Thief is a historical fiction set during WWII but from the point of view of Death. Unlike what we think, Death is actually a very humorous character and his voice was the reason I didn’t give up after the first couple of pages. His personality really helped the book shine and stand out among all of the other WWII novels. And I cannot not mention my favourite character, Hans Huberman. He is the sweetest father/parent figure I have ever read about and I truly, truly love him. Please, if you haven’t yet picked this up go do it right now!

Rating: ALL THE STARS IN THE WORLD 🙂 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Overall, I had a fantastic reading year in 2015 and I can’t wait for what is in store for me this year! What was your favourite book(s) of 2015? I would love to know! I will have another post with all of my reading goals/challenges which will be up soon 🙂

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

8 thoughts on “Favourites of 2015

  1. Claudia Ann says:

    “The Book Thief” is the best book I’ve ever read. This book broke my heart into a million pieces. I cried soooo much. Awesome book!
    I have read “The Raven Boys” and “Fangirl” – they was really great! 😉
    I have to read “An Ember in the Ashes”. Many bloggers recommended me this book 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • lostwithinwordsx says:

      The Book Thief really made me sob like a baby 😛 You should definitely read An Ember In the Ashes! it is truly fantastic ❤

      Like

  2. Yvonne B. (bookishpanda) says:

    Ahhh, Jenna! Finally found your blog, ha! It looks absolutely ADORABLE! I want to follow you – do you have bloglovin’ for your blog yet? 😀

    You chose so many great books! I must admit, I haven’t read all of them but YES to “An Ember in the Ashes” – I also went into it without knowing too much which was good! It’s better like that! I’m so glad to see “Maybe Someday” on your list … it’s one of my alltime favorite books and I JUST LOVE IT SO MUCH! ♥ “The Book Thief” was AMAZING as well. It was brilliant!

    I’m also super excited for “The Raven Boys” and “I’ll give you the sun” … I have both of these on my shelves and already can’t wait to read them. 😀

    I hope 2016 will be an amazing year for you! ❤
    Yvonne @ A World Between Folded Pages

    Liked by 1 person

    • lostwithinwordsx says:

      Thank you so much Yvonne!! I think I followed you on bloglovin but my account is just not working 😦 I’ll DM you on Instagram when it is back up and running again! I am so excited for you to read The Raven Boys as well as I’ll Give You The Sun! They are both so so amazing ❤ I hope 2016 is fantastic for you as well lovely 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

