Book Review: The 5th Wave

 

the-5th-wave-rick-yancey-book-coverThe 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

Series: The 5th Wave #1

Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons Books for Young Readers, Penguin on May 7th 2014

Genres: Action & Adventure, Love & Romance, Science Fiction, Post Apocalyptic, Young Adult

Pages: 457

Rating: ★★★★.75

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS: 

After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker.

Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother–or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS: 

Critical Rating: 

Entertainment Rating: 

Overall Rating: ★.75

Plot: Fast paced | Intense | Filled with action

Characters: Introduced well | Three dimensional | All story lines interact nicely

World Building: Imaginable | Vivid | Realistic

Writing: Multiple POVs | Third person limited | Seamless | Filled with similes and metaphors

MY REVIEW:

The 5th Wave is a story about the world ending as aliens (I know how that sounds) invade Planet Earth. I honestly was not intrigued what so ever after hearing the cringe worthy synopsis, and I wanted to just avoid this book for as long as possible. But… I picked it up a good year and a half after it’s release date due to the endless 5 star reviews and the newly released movie. And I FELL IN LOVE.

Trust me when I say that I am not really into Science Fiction, I personally find robots really, really creepy, and the thought of aliens keep me up at night. But this book was absolutely amazing. From the very first page, I was hooked and was holding my breath as I read each sentence, word by word.

This story is told from four different perspectives, Cassie, Ben, Sammy, and Evan with Cassie as the main protagonist. I loved how the parallels worked throughout the story and intertwined everyone together. Each character had a voice that really shined through and showed their personality.

Cassie was a really great main character. I loved how realistic and relatable she was throughout the entire book. Her sarcastic humour and sassiness really cracked me up, and her first priority was always her family which I absolutely adored. Also, her character is just a normal teenage girl in the middle of a scary apocalypse. She doesn’t just come up with super powers and save the world like most YA novels. Instead, she actually has to work and practice her abilities; shooting a gun, taking care of wounds, and outthinking her opponents.

I had this gut feeling when I met Evan. I knew that there was going to be some sort of secret behind those gorgeous brown eyes and swoon worthy smile. However, I still couldn’t help but fall for his genuine and caring personality. I really enjoyed Cassie and Evan’s relationship together, they were so adorable and sweet and I was cheering them on the whole time.

As for Ben, he was just not my favourite. His chapters were really action packed and interesting but I just didn’t like the way he seemed conceited about his looks. Also, the ending of this book kind of frustrated me because I knew where the romance was heading towards… (Definitely one of my bookish pet peeves!!!)

My favourite element of The 5th Wave was definitely the way Rick Yancey writes. His words flow so seamlessly and each sentence actually means something. There are so many hidden metaphors and symbols within some of these chapters that I actually had to stop reading and flag each of them down. As well, this book was perfectly paced! It had just the right amount of action, romance, and plot twists that kept me glued to the book.

This was unlike any alien book I have read. The aliens in this story seriously creeped me out in so many different ways. They weren’t necessarily creepy  in the way they looked or acted, but rather in the way they thought.  These aliens were so much more advanced than humans and the fact that they didn’t even consider us as competition was so terrifying yet real. After reading this though, I seriously am scared of aliens!

Overall, The 5th Wave was a fantastic ride. I am so glad that I finally decided to pick it up, and I have learned my lesson that maybe science fiction is my thing. I am looking forward to continuing on with The Infinite Sea and watching the book come to life in theatres!

***********************************************************************

Have any of you read this book? If so, what are your thoughts? I would love to know 😀

xoxo,

Jenna ❤

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

9 thoughts on “Book Review: The 5th Wave

  1. Claudia Ann says:

    I have read this book and I totally fall in love with this story. Aliens, end of the world and… my lovely Ben. He is my favourite character. Everyone ship Eviopeia, but I’m team Ben 🙂
    Have you watched movie based on “The Fifth Wave”? 🙂

    Sorry, if you found mistakes in my comment. You should know I’m not speak English as well as others. I mainly speak Polish, but I like your blog and I have to leave a comment 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • lostwithinwordsx says:

      Your English is great! Don’t worry about it 🙂 I am planning on watching the movie this weekend!! I can’t wait to see it 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

