Book Review: The Kiss of Deception

16429619The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Series: The Remnant Chronicles #1

Published by Henry Holt on July 8, 2014

Genres: Action & Adventure, Fantasy, Fiction, Love & Romance, Young Adult

Pages: 492

Rating: ★★★★.25

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS: 

A princess must find her place in a reborn world.

She flees on her wedding day.

She steals ancient documents from the Chancellor’s secret collection.

She is pursued by bounty hunters sent by her own father.

She is Princess Lia, seventeen, First Daughter of the House of Morrighan.

The Kingdom of Morrighan is steeped in tradition and the stories of a bygone world, but some traditions Lia can’t abide. Like having to marry someone she’s never met to secure a political alliance.

Fed up and ready for a new life, Lia flees to a distant village on the morning of her wedding. She settles in among the common folk, intrigued when two mysterious and handsome strangers arrive—and unaware that one is the jilted prince and the other an assassin sent to kill her. Deceptions swirl and Lia finds herself on the brink of unlocking perilous secrets—secrets that may unravel her world—even as she feels herself falling in love.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: ★★★★

Entertainment Rating: ★★★★.5

Overall Rating: ★★★★.25

Plot: Slow paced | Day to day life | Speeds up towards the end

Characters: Amazing character development | Realistic | Three dimensional | Complex

World Building: Clear | Well described | Picturesque

Writing: Multiple POVS | Third person limited | Beautiful | Easily flowing

**********************************************************************

MY REVIEW:

The Kiss of Deception definitely caught me by surprise. After reading the synopsis, I thought that I already knew the gist of the story, a typical princess caught in a love triangle involving a swoon worthy prince and a determined assassin. After reading a couple of pages though, I realized that that definitely wasn’t the main point of the story. There was so much character development and important messages embedded throughout the whole book. Lia just might have become one of my all time favourite female characters and the change she goes through is absolutely extraordinary.

The first thing I have to mention is the fact that this book is really slow paced. It isn’t like a typical YA fantasy novel that take you on a roller coaster from the very first page. However, this doesn’t mean that The Kiss of Deception is at all boring or uninteresting. It is actually in fact quite the opposite. I personally really enjoyed the slow beginning of this story as it helped me get to know and fall in love with the characters. There were great descriptions of the scenery and all of the secondary characters were so well developed and real. I was hooked from page one, not necessarily because of the unstoppable action, but rather because of how beautifully everything fit together.

Alongside that point, I have to mention how perfect the length of the chapters were. One of my biggest bookish pet peeves is when the chapters are either really long or really short. If they are extremely long or boring, I find it really hard to get through the book. On the other hand, extremely short chapters end up being really choppy and can make you susceptible to not being able to connect with the characters. TKOD mastered this element perfectly, and I never once wanted to stop reading.

The thing that I absolutely have to mention about this book is the wonderful character development. Like I said in my intro, Lia’s character arc is amazing. At first, I wasn’t sure how I was going to react to Lia being the main protagonist of the story. I honestly didn’t like the fact that she was a princess running away from an arranged marriage. To me, that felt really immature and selfish, and those are definitely two charactersitics that I hate in any character of any novel. To my surprise, Lia was completely different from what I expected. Sure at first, she was a pretty weak, unsure, and easily manipulated character. However, once she experiences some tough real life situations, she changes and becomes this amazing female protagonist who is brave, intelligent, and inspiring. I loved how she adapted right into her new life in Terravin and wasn’t afraid to get her hands dirty helping Greta with her costumers. I could feel myself smiling as Lia began to appreciate the things she once took for granted and gave her appreciation back to those who cared for her.

“You’ll always be you, Lia. You can’t run from that.”

Now I do have to mention the fact that there is a YA trope that everyone seems to hate. Yes, there is a love triangle between Lia and the two men. However, I guarantee that this isn’t the main plot of the story and that Lia really does seem to care for one person over the other. This isn’t another America Singer moment if you know what I mean… Just as Lia did, I easily fell for one character as well, and I continued to cheer for him throughout the whole book. (If you were wondering, I’m Team Rafe <3)

Along with all of these other characteristics, another aspect of TKOD that really stood out amongst other YA Fantasies, was the fact that there was a guessing game going on through 3/4 of the book. We are told the story mainly from Lia’s point of view, but there are other chapters mixed in with the perspectives of The Prince as well as The Assassin. We also get the point of views of Kaden and Rafe, who is in fact much to Lia’s surprise, The Prince and The Assassin. I obviously won’t tell you who is who but I really want to emphasize the fact that this element kept me intrigued and second guessing myself. Through the whole book, one moment I thought I knew who was who, and then in a couple of chapters I was confused again. I did guess right when we had the big reveal, though I certain get why others would think differently. Sometimes not knowing who was who really frustrated me but it also kept me glued to the book, and I definitely have to give props to Pearson for thinking of this brilliant idea.

As I am Team Rafe, I have to say that the chemistry between Lia and Rafe was amazing. The things that they said to each other sent goosebumps down my spine, and I really couldn’t help but break into a huge grin as they shared their sweet moments. Like most couples, they were constantly having petty fights which I loved but they also connected in so many different ways that I knew from the moment I saw them that they have to end up together. Also, Rafe’s determination and loyalty to Lia really caught me by surprise and I absolutely adored the fact that he wanted to make up for his earlier decisions.

“The good ones don’t run away, Lia.” 

For the writing style, I definitely have to say that everything fit together like a puzzle. Pearson’s writing flowed well and gently carried me to each scene of the story. Although it was written through multiple perspectives, the chapters weren’t chopped up or cut awkwardly. I actually loved the fact that we got to learn more about each character and how they were feeling at that moment. Each character had their unique, distinct voice, and I didn’t have to look at the chapter header to see who was speaking when.

The overall plot was well written and I didn’t see most of the events coming. There weren’t any unexpected plot holes or scenes that made you scratch your head as you were reading. Some scenes really did tore my heart into a million pieces and sewed it back together again. I am not one for tears while reading a book, but I did come really close in some parts of TKOD. The fact that really contributed to me being so emotionally attached was how relatable Lia was. I felt as if I was truly her in some parts of the novel, and it really made my heart wrench during those difficult moments she had to endure.

Overall, The Kiss of Deception was a really well written book. It had amazing characters, a smooth plot, and an excellent world building. If you are looking for a medieval themed fantasy with a relatable main character and a swoon worthy romance, I definitely encourage you to pick up The Kiss of Deception as soon as you can.

**********************************************************************

Have you read THE KISS OF DECEPTION yet, or are you planning to? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments 😀

xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

8 thoughts on “Book Review: The Kiss of Deception

Leave a Reply

