Monthly Update: January Wrap Up

Hello bookworms! The first month of 2016 flew by and it is time to look back and see what I have read in January.

This month, I have read a total of 8 books. I enjoyed most of them and I even managed to kick my short reading slump to the side. So let’s get into the books shall we?

**********************************************************************

How many books did I complete from my December TBR?

918226_1234492513244089_431201259_n(1)

Love Letters To The Dead by Ava Dellaira

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

Cinder by Marissa Meyer

The F It List by Julie Halpern

End of Days by Suzan Ee

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

Incarnate by Jodi Meadows

Everyday by David Levithan

I actually had a very ambiguous TBR so I wasn’t able to finish everything XD Some of these books were also borrowed from the library so I couldn’t get to them before they were due…

**********************************************************************

Cinder by Marissa Meyer 

cinder_book_cover

This is the first book in the famous Lunar Chronicles and I absolutely loved it! After finishing this, I was quite mad at myself for not reading it sooner 😦 I loved how Marissa Meyer added a unique sci fi twist to the Cinderella story we all know so well. I truly loved each and every character (except for Queen Levana of course!) and was surprised to see how much I connected with Cinder throughout her story.

★★★★.5 Stars!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The F It List by Julie Halpern

17286812

The F It List was honestly not my cup of tea. There was nothing “wrong” with the characters or the pace of the story, but I just personally didn’t enjoy this book. I might have DNFed it, if it wasn’t for the short length… I must admit though, the cover is gorgeous ❤

★★.5 Stars!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski

20443207

The Winner’s Crime is the sequel to The Winner’s Curse which I read late last year. This book was absolutely gorgeous; Marie Rutkoski’s writing gets me everytime! The only thing I have to say is that it broke my heart into a million pieces, and the wait for The Winner’s Kiss is killing me!

★★★★.5 Stars!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell

71lklmxqgjl

Eleanor & Park was my second Rainbow Rowell book. And I swear… She never fails to amaze me each time with such realistic characters and a swoon worthy romance. Eleanor & Park were such fabulous, three dimensional characters and the mix of the 80s vibe was a total winning point for me ❤ I also have to mention that there might be a slight sexual assault trigger warning, so please be aware before reading this book!

★★★★.5 Stars!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

the-5th-wave-rick-yancey-book-cover

If you have seen my book review for The 5th Wave, you would already know how I feel about this book. It total blew my expectations out of the water and I fell in love with Rick Yancey’s writing! This book was action packed, descriptive, and all around amazing! I definitely recommend ❤ Check out my review here

★★★★.75 Stars!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Duff by Kody Keplinger

the-duff-book-cover-530x800

I mainly read The Duff to get rid of my small reading slump and it was definitely the perfect cure! Although it wasn’t the best written book, it was hilarious and had some amazing elements of friendship and first love. If you are having a hard time concentrating on a book, I suggest you to check this book out! Check out my goodreads review here

★★★.25 Stars!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E Pearson 

164296191

The Kiss of Deception was also one of this month’s reading highlights! I loved the mix of fantasy alongside the guessing game that kept me intrigued throughout the whole story. Fantastic characters, easily understandable world building, and slow but beautifully rich writing are some of the best characteristics of this novel. Check out my review here

★★★★.25 Stars!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

The Yoga of Max’s Discontent by Karan Bajaj (ARC)

26068115

I am currently reading this one and I hope to finish it by tonight! I received the ARC through the author so I will have a review up for it soon 😀 So far, so good!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

**********************************************************************

And that’s it for January! Overall, I think I had a fantastic start to the year and I can’t wait to get my hands on some new releases! I am hoping for a even better reading month in February ❤

How was your reading month and what was your favourite book you read this month? 

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

 

2 thoughts on “Monthly Update: January Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

