Book Review: The Yoga of Max’s Discontent

yoga of max

26068115The Yoga of Max’s Discontent by Karan Bajaj

Expected Publication by Riverhead Books on May 3, 2016

Genres: Adult, Fiction, Religion & Spiritual Beliefs, Self Discovery, Travelling

Pages: 336

Rating: ★★★★

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Max Pzoras is the poster child for the American Dream. The child of Greek immigrants who grew up in a dangerous New York housing project, he triumphed over his upbringing and became a successful Wall Street analyst. Yet on the frigid December night he’s involved in a violent street scuffle, Max begins to confront questions about suffering and mortality that have dogged him since his mother’s death.

His search takes him to the farthest reaches of India, where he encounters a mysterious night market, almost freezes to death on a hike up the Himalayas, and finds himself in an ashram in a drought-stricken village in South India. As Max seeks answers to questions that have bedeviled him—can yogis walk on water and live for 200 years without aging? Can a flesh-and-blood man ever achieve nirvana?—he struggles to overcome his skepticism and the pull of family tugging him home. In an ultimate bid for answers, he embarks on a dangerous solitary meditation in a freezing Himalayan cave, where his physical and spiritual endurance is put to its most extreme test.

By turns a gripping adventure story and a journey of tremendous inner transformation, The Yoga of Max’s Discontent is a contemporary take on man’s classic quest for transcendence.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: ★★★★

Entertainment Rating: ★★★.5

Overall Rating: ★★★★

Plot: Medium to fast paced | Twists and turns | Easily flowing

Characters: Realistic | Loveable | Complex

World Building: Imaginable | Clear | Picturesque

Writing: First Person | Simple | Direct | Smooth

**********************************************************************

*I received a free eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.

MY REVIEW:

The Yoga of Max’s Discontent was a brilliant combination of realistic characters and an amazing journey of self discovery. When I first started reading this book, I wasn’t really sure what I was expecting. All I had heard from the author was that it was a book about yoga and that was enough to intrigue me and my curiosity. After I finished however, I can definitely say that I was pleasantly surprised. This book took me on a wonderful experience that I will treasure for years to come.

The best thing about this book in my opinion are the characters. Max for one was definitely one of the most intricate and complex characters I have ever read about. Thrown into his heartbreaking childhood growing up as a Greek immigrant having to help his sick mom, little sister, and disabled friend, made me immediately empathetic to his situation. The Wall Street setting seemed real with all of the drug dealing gangs and violent street fights, and I could really imagine myself there alongside Max as he deals with his struggles. Although he had a tough life growing up, Max is able to be successful in America with his new job as a banker. However, he can’t shake off the feeling that he is empty and that something inside of him just can’t be filled up. I could definitely relate to most of Max’s emotions and how superficial things in life can really throw us off our track.

Also, I really loved the side characters that appeared throughout the story. It seemed like they all had their own stories to tell and were complex in their own way. The timing that Max met each of them couldn’t have been more perfect as each meeting really shaped Max’s journey to find inner peace. That being said, that was also one of my problems within the novel. It felt a little obvious what was going to happen, and I honestly felt quite skeptical at some parts of the story. I was often questioning why Max was able to become much more adept at becoming a yogi with such little practice, and how each time he faced a problem, there was always someone to help him.

Other than those minor issues, I feel as if this book can really transform the reader’s thoughts and opinions. Throughout the book, I was often reflecting back on my spiritual beliefs and my inner peace, referring to the book as a guide. Bajaj definitely outdid himself with the quality and accuracy of all of the information on yoga as well as the Indian culture. I could really imagine myself being in Max’s shoes and experiencing each movement, each breath, and each thought that he had while he was on his journey.

Overall, The Yoga of Max’s Discontent was a refreshing and unique experience. It was unlike anything I have ever read before in the best possible way, and I would definitely recommend this to anyone who has ever questioned their life and what their true role is within society.

**********************************************************************

How do you feel about spiritual books? Are you going to pick up The Yoga of Max’s Discontent when it is published? I would love to chat with you in the comments!

Until next time xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Yoga of Max’s Discontent

  1. kimhornsbyauthor says:

    I read the novel too and posted a review on Goodreads. I didn’t question his “smooth” transition to enlightenment, just accepted it as freaky fast, but did skim pages that described poses and how he felt doing them. The book made me research the Indian Himalayas!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

