Book Review: Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda

Simon Edit

simon2bvs-2bthe2bhomo2bsapiens2bagenda2bby2bbecky2balbertalli2bpdf2bepubSimon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Published by Balzar + Bray on April 7, 2015

Genres: Coming of Age, Contemporary, Fiction, LGBTQ+, Love & Romance, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 303

Rating: ★★★★★

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed out—without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

**********************************************************************

Ratings:

Critical Rating: 

Entertainment Rating: 

Overall Rating: 

Plot: Medium paced | Day to day life | Build up towards the end

Characters: Absolutely wonderful | All time favourites | Beautiful | Realistic

World Building: Not much (not a fantasy/dystopian) | Modern world | Easy to understand

Writing: Funny | Quirky | Wonderful quotes | Felt as if it was written from the narrator

**********************************************************************

MY REVIEW: 

Well first off, I have to say that Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda is definitely the most adorable book I have ever read. I fell in love with the story almost immediately, and I could not stop reading! This book does deal almost entirely with LGBTQ+ subjects, and even if you are not the most comfortable person about it, I would still strongly suggest you to pick it up. It is unlike any other LGBTQ+ book I have ever read, and the way Becky Albertalli deals with these issues is absolutely remarkable.

The thing that I was the most impressed about was the fact that Simon wasn’t sterotypically “gay.” He didn’t dress, speak, or act differently compared to any of the other “straight” characters in the novel. It made me realize over and over again that people who are LGBTQ+ are just like everyone else, with the only difference being in their preference of gender. 

“I actually hate when people say that. I mean, I feel secure in my masculinity, too. Being secure in your masculinity isn’t the same thing as being straight.”

That being said, Simon was also one of the best characters that I have ever read from. He was the perfect mix of adorable, funny, and sarcastic all in one person, and I couldn’t help but love him from the start. Becky Albertalli did a fabulous job voicing his character, and I honestly could not tell if the book was written from an actual teenager or from Becky herself. All of the issues presented, including but not limited to the LGBTQ+ ones were realistic, and I could vividly imagine all of these situations happening in a real high school. Plus, there was tons of diversity in this book, so extra bonus points for that!

I, of course cannot not mention the lovely human being that is Blue. OH MY GODDDD…. I was literally squealing my head off when I read some of Simon scenes with Blue and I swear, my mom came into my room to check if I was okay XD Simon and Blue’s relationship was so so sweet and heartwarming. I loved how honest they were with each other about their lives, and although almost all of their interaction was told in an email format, I could still form a bond with the characters.

“And I think I like that we got to know each other from the inside out.” 

I know one of the things the reader is suppose to do while reading the book is to guess Blue’s actually identity. Honestly though, I really didn’t care at all who he turned out to be. I loved Blue no matter what (just like Simon) and I would always love him regardless of his appearance or racial background.

“White shouldn’t be the default any more than straight should be the default. There shouldn’t even be a default.” 

This brings me to another fabulous aspect of the story. Becky Albertalli included some amazing quotes that really hit home for me.  They rang so true and were perfect examples of the overall theme of the story: it’s okay to just be honest with yourself and to accept who you truly are. The quotes also accurately highlighted the treatment Simon received when he came out and I felt so proud yet heart broken all at the same time.

“Bram was right: people really are like houses with vast rooms and tiny windows. And maybe it’s a good thing, the way we never stop surprising each other.”

Just a quick mention of the Harry Potter references in this book! Simon’s love for all things Harry Potter made me love him 100 no, 1000000 times more ❤ 

“What’s a dementor?” 

I mean, I can’t even. “Nora, you are not longer my sister.”

“So it’s some Harry Potter thing,” she says.

Overall, Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda will probably always be one of my all time favourite books. Though it wasn’t action packed or threw plot twists left and right, the pacing and plot was perfect for the story it told. Thought provoking, real, and simply beautiful, I would definitely recommend this book to absolutely anyone.

**********************************************************************

Have you read Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda or are you planning to? What are your thoughts? Let me know in the comments below 🙂

As always, thank you so much for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

12 thoughts on “Book Review: Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda

  1. Pingback: The Wine Book Tag
  2. Jilleighan Boivin says:

    So I had no idea that is book existed so I went and check out the book from the library and I’m going to start the book tonight, sounds like a cute little quirky read ☺️, thank you and I can’t wait to start it!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • lostwithinwordsx says:

      Yay!!! You’re welcome and thank you so much for listening to my recommendation! It really means a lot to me ❤️ Let me know what you think after you finish 😉

      Like

  3. Emma The Book Lover says:

    AHHHH YES, I’m so happy to know that you enjoyed this book, it’s also one of my all time favourites! From the romance to the Harry Potter references, it’s perfect!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

