Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre

Welcome back to Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people atΒ BrokeandBookish
toptentuesday

This week’s topic is about unexpected favourite books! I have made it one of my 2016 reading resolutions to branch out my variety of book choices, and to try new genres that I would have other wise avoid. And I am so glad for that, because I found many amazing books that soon became some of my all time favourites. Without further ado, let’s get onto the books ❀

**********************************************************************

1. Obsidian by Jennifer L Armentrout

12578077

I have to admit, the cover for this series is exceptionally horrible. And the fact that aliens were in this book didn’t neccessarily appeal to me. But, I’m so glad I gave Obsidian a try because it was definitely a fun and addictive read πŸ˜€

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


2. Legend by Marie Lu

legend_marie_lu_book_cover

I had really low expectations going into Legend by Marie Lu. All I had known about it was the fact that it was a dystopian novel, and that was enough to make me avoid this trilogyΒ for over two years. That being said, Legend was quite an amazing read and I definitely cannot wait to continue on with this series. Check out my book reviewΒ here

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


3. I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

ill-give-you-the-sun

As I have said before, contemporaries are a total hit or miss for me. Thankfully, I’ll Give You The Sun was a total hit and it even made it into my top ten books of 2015. The writing and characters were just absolutely original and beautiful. Check out my top 12 of last yearΒ here

Β GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


4. The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak

The_Book_Thief_by_Markus_Zusak_book_cover

Yes… I was unsure whether or not I wanted to read The Book Thief! (If you didn’t know, this is my absolute favourite book along with Harry Potter <3) I was mostly skeptical because I knew how heartbrokenΒ it was going to make me and I was totally right XD I was ugly sobbing for the last third of this book. The tears are totally worth it though. Trust me!

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


5. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

22557272

The Girl on the Train was my very first step into the Adult Psychological Thriller genre. I was surprised to see that while none of the characters are likeable in any way, the whole guessing “who did it?” was totally up my alley. Check out my book reviewΒ here

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


6. Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover

17788403

Maybe Someday was my Β first New Adult book and it will certainly not be my last. If any of them are even half as beautiful and tearjerking as this masterpiece, I want to read all of them. NOW!

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


7. The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

the-5th-wave-rick-yancey-book-cover

Yes…. We have yet another alien book. Can you guys see the pattern? I guess I’mΒ just really not a sci fi person XD Anyways, The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey is definitely one of my favourite reads of 2016 so far. The characters are well developed and I absolutely fell heads over heels for Evan ❀ Check out my reviewΒ here

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


8. The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

17675462

I was super nervous starting The Raven Cycle because of all the mixed things I have heard about Maggie Stiefvater’s Shiver series. That being said, The Raven Boys was an amazing story filled with loveable characters and a unique plot. I am planning to reread this book and marathon the rest of the series before The Raven King comes out in September ❀ (I’M SO EXCITED GAHHH!!!)

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


9. Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

download

Fangirl was such an adorable book and I honestly have no idea why I didn’t pick it up sooner. Rainbow Rowell’s writing is so relatable and quirky, and if you haven’t read anything by her, I would definitely recommend this one ❀

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


10. Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K Rowling

harry-potter-and-the-sorcerers-stone-2013-cover

I KNOW!!! I was honestly so skeptical about reading the HARRY POTTER SERIES πŸ˜› I don’t know why but I just kept pushing it back and back until I finally picked it up one day. I seriously smacked myself in the face and groaned after the first page XD This series is everything, and if you haven’t read this (regardless of your age) PLEASE PICK IT UP RIGHT NOW! I promise you that you will not regret it ❀ ❀ ❀

Goodreads |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository

**********************************************************************

And that completes my Top Ten Tuesday for this week! What are some of the books you enjoyed recently that weren’t your typical genre or out of your comfort zone? Let me know in the comments below πŸ˜€

I will see you with another TTT next week!

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAM|Β GOODREADSΒ |Β BLOGLOVIN

4 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Enjoyed Recently That Weren’t My Typical Genre

  1. thebibliotheque says:

    hahaha YES, the Lux covers could be definitely prettier… (I will never be on board with the faces-on-book-covers thing), but it’s the price to pay in order to let DAEMON BLACK into your life. And yes, I am talking about one of my book boyfriends here, so the caps were necessary πŸ™‚

    Great TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

