Book Review: Prodigy

Prodigy Edit 1

13414446Prodigy by Marie Lu

Series: The Legend Series #2

Published by Putnam Juvenille on January 29, 2013

Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Fantasy, Fiction, Love & Romance, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 371

Rating: ★★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Injured and on the run, it has been seven days since June and Day barely escaped Los Angeles and the Republic with their lives. Day is believed dead having lost his own brother to an execution squad who thought they were assassinating him. June is now the Republic’s most wanted traitor. Desperate for help, they turn to the Patriots – a vigilante rebel group sworn to bring down the Republic. But can they trust them or have they unwittingly become pawns in the most terrifying of political games?

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: ★.25

Entertainment Rating: ★.5

Overall Rating: ★.5

Plot: Fast paced | Intense | Movie like action | Heartbreaking cliffhanger

Characters: Character development!!! | More likeable than ever | Realistic and complex

World Building: Must more clear than the first book | Well developed | Picturesque

Writing: Simply beautiful | Lyrical | Easy to get into

**********************************************************************

MY REVIEW: 

(SPOILER FREE ZONE! EVEN IF YOU HAVEN’T READ LEGEND BY MARIE LU (THE FIRST BOOK IN THIS TRILOGY) OR PRODIGY, YOU CAN STILL READ THIS SECTION :D) 

Prodigy… Wow! Prodigy definitely blew my expectations right out of the water. There was so much character development, action, and heartbreaking moments, AND I NEED MORE!!! I am so glad that I pushed myself to read this sequel as if you have read my review for Legend, you would know that, while I enjoyed the book, it wasn’t really anything special. But this!!! This was something special. Prodigy absolutely soared from the ground and took things to a whole another level. 

There are so many incoherent thoughts running through my brain as I write this review, because Prodigy practically grasps your heart and never lets go. You are powering through the entire book breathless, aching because you want to read more but also because you don’t want the story to finish. And when it does… It shatters your heart into a million pieces. The worst thing is, Marie Lu doesn’t even  bother to pick up the pieces, she leaves them on the ground while you are kneeling, sobbing at her mercy. 

“He is beauty, inside and out.”

“He is the silver lining in a world of darkness.”

“He is my light.”

There are so many things that was just perfect about this book. First off, June Isparis. June was a completely different person than she was in Legend. Her character arc was freaking fabulous and if you know me, you would know that characters are something that really break or make a novel. Honestly, now I (sort of) think I even prefer her over Day. Her realistic conflicting emotions between the Republic and the Colonies, her kick butt action scenes, and how much she was willing to risk for everyone just made me worship her. If you are looking for a book or a series with a female protagonist that is both so relatable yet so amazing, please, please go read Legend and Prodigy. I guarantee you will fall in love ❤

Now, as for Day. *Sighs* Yes, I still love and will probably always love Day but in this book, some of his chapters just really annoyed me. I get the reasons why he was feeling a certain way but I don’t know, he and I just didn’t click like we did in the first book. Some of his decisions really irked me and I quite honestly was worried nonstop that he might make a rash decision and randomly die. (Thank you Marie Lu for not doing that…) But, I still love Day and June together so it all worked out at the end. Their relationship was and is still a healthy one, and they are both smart enough to realize that they are not Romeo & Juliet in the Shakespearean Era.

“The first time I kissed you…”

“Well, that might as well have been my first kiss ever.”

Anden was a really compelling character for me to read and think about. I wasn’t sure whether I trusted him at first but then as the story progressed, I realized that I was sort of falling for his charms. Don’t get me wrong, I’m Team Day all the way (hehe that rhymed XD) but he was a really interesting and unique character to throw into this Day and June mess. Anden also turned out to be completely the opposite of what I thought he would be and I found that it was a really nice change of pace in a Dystopian world. He continuously made me questions his morals and whether there is actually a distinct difference between the good and the bad.

Kaede was arguably my favourite character in Prodigy. (Apart from June, but she doesn’t count :P) Whereas she was quite in-your-face and annoying in Legend, you grow to love her deeply and fully in this sequel. The scene of her flying the plane was definitely my all time favourite action element of this novel, and I was literally panicking, jumping up and down with tears on my face. That ending though CRUSHED me and while I could see why it was necessary, it wasn’t enough to prevent me from downright sobbing.

Although this review is getting terribly long, I do have to mention Marie Lu’s writing. As with Legend, it was beautiful, perfect in length and straight to the point. She doesn’t take hours describing the building in great detail, but she does allow you to picture it in your mind. And thank the heavens for the epic world building. I am so glad she finally covered that in this book and we even get a map!! (Mapped books are always amazing, just so you know ;p) I can now actually understand which part of the world she is talking about and understand the important role of politics in this story. The one thing that I did not like was how (again) obvious some bits were. I could see it from a mile away and*sigh* I guess dystopians just can’t stop falling into those obvious “plot twists.”

All in all, Prodigy was a much better reading experience for me compared with the first book in this trilogy. It didn’t fall into “The Second/Middle Book Syndrome” which I was very grateful for and pleased about. Filled to the brim with non stop action and almost lyrical writing, I would highly recommend you to read Legend as well as Prodigy if you haven’t already!

WARNING! POTENTIAL SPOILERS BELOW:

Tess on the other hand was one of the most infuriating characters in this novel. I can (kind of) understand why she did things the way she did, but I must admit that I sometimes wanted to throw a thick blanket over her in order to JUST MAKE HER SHUT UP. Ughhh… Maybe it’s just me, but I keep mistaking Tess to be only 11 years old or something, and the way she acts around Day makes her seem like she is a cute puppy, NOT a potential love interest. Also, I kept thinking that she was going to betray Day and June. Every time her scene came up, I was constantly on the edge of my seat, meticulously searching for any evidence of her disloyalty XD

And we have finally come to Razor. I’m just going to say I KNEW IT! From the moment he appeared in the novel, I was like okay! He’s going to try to take over the government. DO NOT TRUST HIM. Yep. And of course, I was right 😉 The one thing I didn’t realize though was that he was actually working with the Republic so at least that was something different.

POTENTIAL SPOILERS OVER!

**********************************************************************

Have you read Prodigy or are you planning to? Did you prefer Legend or Prodigy? What did you think about the ending? (No spoilers please <3) Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Prodigy

Leave a Reply

