Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books that were Disappointing

Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people at BrokeandBookish

toptentuesday

This week’s topic is all about those unfortunate books that let me down 😦 As much as us bibliophiles find books we fall heads over heels with, we also find books that were a huge disappointment. *Cue “aww”* Before we get started, I just want to state that this is my opinion and my opinion only. I don’t mean to offend anyone and if you liked these books, I am genuinely happy for you ❤ With that being said, here are my top ten disappointing reads!

**********************************************************************

1. MockingJay by Suzanne Collins

giphy

So it physically hurts my heart to say this, but Mockingjay from The Hunger Games Trilogy was a huge disappointment. While it wasn’t a bad book by any means, (I gave it a 3 stars) it ultimately did not meet my way too high expectations.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


2. The Selection by Kiera Cass

10507293

The Selection is a series that I cannot neccessarily say I had high expectations for but have heard countless times that it is many peoples’ favourite book. That being said, America was just too much for me to handle and no I unfortunately won’t be continuing on with The One. Check out my spoiler free review for The Selection here

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 3. Me and Earl and The Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews

giphy1

Me and Earl and The Dying Girl is really a book you either like or dislike. Sadly, I didn’t appreciate the main character at all and the “humour” in this book was just offensive and sexist. Check out my spoiler free review here

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


4. Saint Anything by Sarah Dessen

23009402

Saint Anything was another one of those mediocre books. It wasn’t terrible but it also wasn’t anything (*HAH* Sorry for my lame sense of humour) special.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


5. The Duff by Kody Keplinger

giphy2

The Duff was a book that I read to get out of my reading slump and it totally did the job! However, the whole book was full of cliches so it was overall just a meh kind of book. I am still kind of interested in watching the movie though… Have any of you guys seen it? Check out my spoiler free Goodreads review here

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


6. Tonight the Streets Are Ours by Leila Sales

23310761

I actually borrowed Tonight The Streets Are Ours from the library because of the beautiful cover and needless to say, I was disappointed. I ended up DNFing this book a third of the way through because I WAS SO BORED XD I know a lot of people loved Leila Sales’ This Song Will Save Your Life so I may or may not pick that one up at some point.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


7. The Maze Runner by James Dashner

the_maze_runner_cover

Regardless of what other people say, The Maze Runner was one of the worst books I have ever read in my life. I tried three separate times getting through the book and I failed (miserably) each time. I recently donated this to a library, so bye bye Maze Runner!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


8. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green

giphy3

I guess John Green and I just cannot be friends. This one yet again was DNFed (now it seems like I DNF a lot of books but I promise you that I don’t!) because HIS CHARACTERS ARE THE SAME PEOPLE IN EACH BOOK… UGHHH!!!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


9. Matched by Allie Condie

7735333

Matched was an okay book but it definitely wasn’t deserving of all that hype. Dystopian with weak characters? Just not my thing 😦

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


10. The F It List by Julie Halpern

17286812

This one I went into blind so you can safely say that I had no expectations what so ever (Or extremely low ones anyway) Butttt, The F It List just wasn’t my cup of tea and I struggled immensely getting through the book.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

**********************************************************************

And that is all for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! What are some books that you found disappointing? Let me know in the comments below ❤

giphy4

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

P.S: I have decided to use some gifs with my posts! I don’t know if you guys will like it but I found that they really accurately represent my feelings. Plus, they are so much fun 😀

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books that were Disappointing

  1. Mia says:

    Ong sameee i thought i was the only one who is fed up with John Green’s books (besides TFIOS) because the characters in his books are so much alike! And btw Paper Towns and Finding Alaska are basically the same people stop denying it!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Lois says:

    An Abundance of Katherines is undoubtedly the worst John Green book I read, I just could not get into that book at all. Mockingjay was also the weakest book in the trilogy in my opinion. I just felt like it was too rushed. I’ve had the Maze Runner sitting on my shelf for a while now and I’m just not drawn to the book.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Cat says:

    I highfive you for your comment on the Hunger Games books. And the Maze Runner trilogy. And the Matched one. Maze Runner and Matched were DNF for me as well and Hunger Games…well I just never read the 3rd book because I was done with it.
    (An Abundace of Katherines is one of my fav books but it might just be because it was my first John Green book so….)

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Thank you so much for stopping by Cat 💕 I am glad you agree on my thoughts with Mockingjay!! I wasn’t sure if I was the only one who was truly disappointed… Regardless, it will still be one of my all time favourite series 🤗

      Like

Leave a Reply

