Book Review: Champion

Champion Edit
champion.inddChampion by Marie Lu

Series: The Legend Series #3

Published by Putnam Juvenile on November 5, 2013

Genres: Action & Adventure, Dystopian, Fantasy, Fiction, Love & Romance, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 369

Rating: 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

He is a Legend.

She is a Prodigy.

Who will be Champion?

June and Day have sacrificed so much for the people of the Republic—and each other—and now their country is on the brink of a new existence. June is back in the good graces of the Republic, working within the government’s elite circles as Princeps-Elect, while Day has been assigned a high-level military position.

But neither could have predicted the circumstances that will reunite them: just when a peace treaty is imminent, a plague outbreak causes panic in the Colonies, and war threatens the Republic’s border cities. This new strain of plague is deadlier than ever, and June is the only one who knows the key to her country’s defense. But saving the lives of thousands will mean asking the one she loves to give up everything.

With heart-pounding action and suspense, Marie Lu’s bestselling trilogy draws to a stunning conclusion.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: 

Entertainment Rating: 

Overall Rating: 

Plot: Fast Paced | Intense | Movie Like Action | SOMEONE HOLD ME

Characters: Well Developed | Pulls At Your Heartstrings | Makes You FEEL Things | Portrayed As Real People

World Building: Vivid | Well Described | Frighteningly Real | SO COOL

Writing: First Person (Dual PoV) | Easily Flowing | Simple | Beautiful

**********************************************************************

MY REVIEW: 

My reaction after finishing Champion:

emma-stone

(SPOILER FREE REVIEW! EVEN IF YOU HAVEN’T READ LEGEND, PRODIGY, OR CHAMPION BY MARIE LU, YOU CAN STILL READ THIS :D) 

Though I was somewhat expecting it, this book gave me all the feels. 

I started Champion quite late a couple nights ago and I had vowed to myself that I would only read a couple of chapters. Guess what? I read the whole dang thing past 2AM and by the end of it all, I was crouched on the ground drowning in my own tears with the book tight at my chest. So yeah. I guess you could call it somewhat of an emotional roller coaster.

First and foremost, I would like to acknowledge the fact that it is so hard to write a solid conclusion to any series, especially Dystopians. There are numerous questions running through our heads and unfortunately so little time for answers. Though that may be the case, Marie Lu somehow or another knocked this issue right out of the park. Yes, there were still some problems I had with the characters. Yes, there were minor loop holes here and there, but all in all, Day and June’s story wrapped up almost perfectly, with just the right amount of heartache and hope for the readers to hang on to. 

“Tell me there is still good in the world. Tell me there is still hope for all of us.”

The characters. Oh my… I don’t know if I will ever be able to part with Day and June. They are both so perfectly flawed with such human like qualities that I will continue to refuse the fact that they are fictional. They are real, you hear me? They areeeeee!!! Not only are they great individually, together they are unstoppable. These two will fight tooth and nail for each other and the amount of love their actions shows downright tore me to pieces. Go away all other fictional couples! Day and June are the ultimate OTP ❤ 

“You drive me insane, June,” he murmurs against my hair. “You’re the scariest, most clever, bravest person I know, and sometimes I can’t catch my breath because I’m trying so hard to keep up. There will never be another like you. You realize that don’t you? ” 

The thing that astonished me once again was the even further developed world building. If you have read my review for Legend, you would know that that was the main reason I gave the first book 4 stars. It admittedly improved in Prodigy, but my oh my did Champion ever snatch the crown! From learning about how the United States of America split into two countries in 2054 to the civilian riots lasting for 15 days during the following year, you can tell straight off the bat that Marie Lu put some serious thought into this dystopian society. And it absolutely worked. The newly established Antarctica was sooooo cool with it’s colour changing skyscrapers and video gamesque point system. The Antarcticans even had personalities that fit like puzzle pieces with their supposed customs and traditions. Nothing seemed out of place or randomly jumbled together. *Cough* Like the terrible world building in The Selection *Cough* 

Likewise to the previous two books, Champion’s story line and plot was fast, furious and emotionally wrecking. There was not a single moment where I was relaxed much less bored, and my eyes were glued onto the page, completely forgetting about my actual real life needs. Nothing mattered during those hours except for Day and June and nothing could keep me apart from them. It wasn’t just the fact that I had been with them for three consecutive books but rather because I felt like I was a part of them, permanently stitched onto their skin. (Okay that sounds creepy but I digress…) My heart ached when they were in trouble, I grinned like an idiot when they were adorably bickering and for goodness sakes, I was just so scared for their lives! If anything happened to them, anything at all, I would have felt the same force of impact, just as hard or possibly even harder. 

I put two fingers against his lips to hush him. “Fear makes you stronger,” I whisper. Before I can stop myself, I put my hands on his face and press my mouth to his.

And as the icing on the cake, Marie Lu’s writing was flawless per usual. The transition between Day and June’s perspectives was smooth sailing throughout and not once did I have to look up at the chapter heading. (Though the different font colour might have been an easy giveaway hehe ;)) Lu’s words flew off the page naturally and though simple, each word was meaningful.The last 50 pages or so really killed me and I bombarded them as if the world was ending with brightly coloured sticky tabs. Basically, I will forever be a slave to her books and read anything she writes. *Grabby hands* 

“Hi,” he says, “I’m Daniel.”

“Hi,” I reply. “I’m June.”

If you couldn’t already tell, Champion was one of the best conclusion novels I have ever read. Actually, scratch that. This entire series will probably always be one of my all time favourite trilogies. With the characters that are Day and June living and breathing in a terrifyingly real but intruiging Dystopian world, I can’t think of a single reason as to why you shouldn’t pick this up. Wait… I do have one! DAY IS MINE!!! ❤ (Well mine and June’s :P) 

**********************************************************************

Have you read Champion or are you planning to? Which book was your favourite in this trilogy? What did you think about the ending? (No spoilers please <3) Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

giphy22

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

5 thoughts on “Book Review: Champion

Leave a Reply

