Book Review: Ghetto

27262241Ghetto by M.L.Sparrow

Series: Standalone

Published by Amazon Kindle Direct Publishing on September 15, 2015

Genres: Action & Adventure, ARC and Review Copies, Dystopian, Fiction, Love & Romance, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 341

Rating: ★★★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | M.L. Sparrow

SYNOPSIS:

My name’s Sunny Grace Beaumont. Branded SGB/2/6895/03.12.93. Only child, self-taught computer geek and cancer survivor. Oh, and did I mention my dad’s the President? As you can imagine that’s sometimes a little problematic, especially when I want to sneak out. But it never got me into quite as much trouble as the night I ventured into the Ghetto – don’t ask me why I was there in the first place… it was stupid. Everyone knows that the Ghetto is where hardened criminals are sent to live out the remainder of their lives. At first the men that kidnap me are just as I’d imagine, mean and thoughtless, but slowly I begin to have doubts.

I meet a guy. His name’s Sin, he has no Brand – a crime punishable by death – and he’s the rebel leader. I should hate him… but I don’t. Instead he opens my eyes to a whole other side of the Ghetto, where people are innocent of the crimes they’re accused of and helpless children suffer dreadful poverty. Is it possible that I’ve been lied to my entire life… that the governments been deceiving everyone? And how can I challenge the law my own dad is adamant to uphold?

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: ★★★

Entertainment Rating: ★★★.75

Overall Rating: ★★★.5

Plot: Mix Of Slow and Fast | Intensity Builds Up Naturally | Didn’t Want To Put Down | Dystopian With A Twist

Characters: Mostly Developed | Realistic & Relatable | Loveable Main Character | Slowburning Romance

World Building: Intricate Yet Easy To Understand | Well Executed | Multiple Details That Really Brought The Story To Life

Writing: First Person PoV | Simple | Easy To Comprehend | Spelling & Grammer Errors

**********************************************************************

*I received a free eARC of this book in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.*   

MY REVIEW: 

My reaction after finishing Ghetto:

391

I’m going to be totally honest with you guys… When I first read the synopsis for Ghetto, I wasn’t exactly sure how much I wanted to accept the review request. I have read plenty of Dystopians thus far and they have all managed to fall into more or less cliched patterns full of insta love, rebellions, and cookie cutter world buildings. I wanted something different, something fresh, and I am so pleased to say that I gave Ghetto a fair chance.

From the very first page of the novel, I was almost immediately hooked into Ghetto’s futuristic world. Sparrow’s descriptions were just the perfect balance of detailed but not info dumpy and intricate but not confusing. There was definitely no shying away from gruesome aspects of a dystopia, and though I wouldn’t mind not knowing how the underground tunnels smelled like, I’ll admit that it added another layer of depth to the world building. The switching back and forth from the city to the Ghetto was fascinating to read about and the contrast between these two environments were horrific. World building wise, Ghetto took a typical dystopian universe and weaved it into something creative and uniquely it’s own. 

Along with the world building, the characters of Ghetto were my favourite part. Major or minor, they all had their individual roles to play and were fully developed for the most part. Some I really hated and some I adored but ultimately they all had a significant purpose to be within the story. Sunny, the main character goes through tremendous character growth and my once dislike or her turned into deep understanding and even trust. Similarly to other dystopians, she soon enough discovers that everything she has been taught was a lie. Living under the roof of the president, she is more or less brainwashed into believing every word her father says and until she met Sin, she had no reason to believe otherwise.

And this is the perfect lead way into Sin. Oh the glorious SIN ❤ He was absolutely amazing and I adored him to pieces. I don’t know why, but something about broken boys with tragic backstories always seems to get me and get me did he! Sin had such a difficult childhood and even so, he was always protecting his friends before he protected himself. Though he may not be the biggest guy within the Ghetto, his presence had such a strong aura that everyone had to bow down to him. That being said, he was definitely not a tyrant, and the soft sides that shone through as he began to get to know Sunny was SO DARN CUTE! Sin and Sunny’s romance was truly OTP status, slow burning but hot nonetheless. The moments they shared made me smile like a child and the lengths the were willing to go save each other’s butts were heart wrenching.

Now you may ask… Why did you “only” give Ghetto 3.5 Stars? Why not a 4 or even a 5? Well… I was originally going to give this book a 4 star rating but the more I thought about it, the more uncertain I got. I really did love the world building, most of the characters, and the romance but the two things that made me dock a couple of stars was the writing/grammer as well as the inevitable Dystopian cliches. First off, there were way too may spelling errors in Ghetto. I don’t know about you guys, but I am a spelling/grammer nerd. Though I tried my best to ignore it, there were too many easily correctable errors for me to just look past it. The other reason why I couldn’t raise my rating was because of the cliches within the novel. Yes, Sparrow tried and quite successfully wove her own Dystopian society but at the same time, there was nothing in the plot that took me by surprise. There was no twists and turns, and somehow I already knew the characters were going to be okay before I was even halfway through the book. So yeah… I guess Dystopians and I will need a little bit of a longer break.

Overall, Ghetto was a realistic and interesting story filled with a great romance. The story has a large focus on politics within the Dystopian world and was able to shed some light onto lesser known problems within a futuristic setting. If you are looking for something a little more fresh within the Dystopian genre or just want a fictional boyfriend to swoon over, I would definitely recommend you to check it out. 3.5 stars overall but certainly closer to a 4 than a 3.

**********************************************************************

Have you read Ghetto or are you planning to? What did you think? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

giphy27

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

10 thoughts on “Book Review: Ghetto

  1. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    Such a great review, thank you Jenna! I have to admit, I’m getting a bit sick of the dystopian genre, everything just seems to be the same, and I’m glad that, despite some clichés, Ghetto was still a bit creative and original. And oh, I’m all for great fictional boyfriends, we can never have too many of these now, can we 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    Great review! I really enjoyed Ghetto as well, so I am happy to hear that you did too, at least in parts. Sunny and Sin were great together and to be honest, I liked that there was a happy ending to it all. It was predictable in many ways, but the whole Sin-is-related-to-you-know-who came a little out of the blue for me and was also a bit of a too convenient solution sometimes.

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Ahh thank you so much ❤ I am still glad I got the opportunity to give Ghetto a try! Though it wasn't my all time favourite Dystopian, it was still an interesting world to read about 🙂 And review requests ARE overwhelming but getting to read books is totally worth it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

