Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That I Am Scared To Read

Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people at BrokeandBookish

toptentuesday

This week’s topic was originally Top Ten Books That Will Make You Laugh but I already did that as a freebie a couple weeks ago. If you want to check that out, make sure to click here 🙂 So for today’s post, I decided to be creative and go with my Top Ten Books That I Am Scared To Read. If you already didn’t know, I get scared a lot quite often and am totally guilty of putting books off for that reason. So with a knife in hand, let’s get onto the books 😀

giphy4

**********************************************************************

1. Anna Dressed In Blood by Kendare Blake 9378297

Doesn’t the title just tell you everything you need to know? The synopsis sounds SO cool (ghost hunters!!!) but I am a tad bit intimated to say the least.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 2. The Diviners by Libba Bray7728889

The Diviners is kind of a weird choice for this topic as it isn’t actually in the horror genre. However, I heard certain things about “Naughty John” (I think that’s his name?) and that he is one of the most terrifying villains EVER.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 3. The Merciless by Danielle Vega

giphy2

This one is no surprise. Merciless is all about a group of girls who is determine to perform an exorcism on someone they believe to be possessed. According to Goodreads reviews, it does not shy away from gruesome details.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 4. Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Trilogy by Ransom Riggsmiss-peregrines-peculiar-children

So the entire Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children Box Set has been on my shelves for quite a while now. But every time I attempt to pick the first book up, the creepy photos turn me away 😛 Someone convince me to give it a proper chance!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 5. Through The Woods by Emily Carroll 

giphy3

I first heard about Through The Woods during the Halloween season last year. I didn’t get a chance to pick it up but I heard amazing things about both the drawings and stories within this book.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 6. The Madman’s Daughter by Mary Shepherd12291438

The Madman’s Daughter sounds SO AMAZING! It’s a mix of historical fiction, mystery, and gothic horror ❤ Plus, that cover is so unique and different.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 7. Unwind by Neil Shustermanunwind

Parents donating their children’s organs to “unwind” the ones that cause more trouble than good? Sounds creepy yet right up my alley 😛

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 8. The Forest of Hands And Teeth by Carrie Ryan

giphy28

Zombies, zombies, ZOMBIES!!!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 9. Between The Devil and The Deep Blue Sea by April Genevieve Tucholke12930909

Between The Devil And The Deep Blue Sea is more of a paranormal mystery but it seems to have an interesting horror story vibe. And can we just talk about that font??? SO PRETTY ❤

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


 10. Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

giphy

And last but certainly not the least, Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn. I have been putting Gone Girl off for so long now just because of the raving reviews it has gotten from basically everyone in the world. I read The Girl On The Train earlier this year, but I think I would enjoy this one much, much more!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

**********************************************************************

And those were all of the books I chose for this week’s Top Ten Tuesday! What are some books YOU are scared of reading? (Maybe you won’t have any cause you are not a scaredy cat XD)  Let me know in the comments below ❤

Thank you everyone for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

29 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books That I Am Scared To Read

  1. mylifewbooks says:

    don’t be scare of mrs peregrines home for peculiar children. I definetly recommend you read it! once you get into it you’ll be laughing and crying along with the characters. it’s one of my favorite books to this day 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. transhaan says:

    Hahha Miss Peregrines is not scay at all 😀 You should try it ! Its in fact really fun and action packed 🙂 Young people with powers WOO . I cant wait to get my hands on The Diviners ❤ – Trang

    Liked by 1 person

  3. thesassygeek says:

    Great list! I’ve actually read a lot of these and loved them, “Anna Dressed in Blood” actually is pretty scary but ultimately worth the read and “The Merciless” will give you some chills for sure it also gets pretty gory. “Through the Woods” is definitely one of the creepiest though but the artwork is gorgeous! I hope you do give some of them a shot and I don’t blame you for being scared of them (since they really are creepy) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lois says:

    If the zombies in The Forest of Hands and Teeth are as gruesome as they are in The Walking Dead then I will literally be running in the other direction haha. I’ve seen a lot of people raving about The Diviners but I’m pretty sure I will end up hating Naughty John guy. Great take on the topic. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Ohh great picks for this week! I actually love books that kind of creep me out. I read Slasher Girls and Monster Boys last year and really enjoyed it, but some of those stories were dark!
    I haven’t actually read any of the books you featured this week, though I do have a few on my to-read list and a few I can’t wait to start! I’ve heard nothing but great things about Miss Peregrine’s, and have you seen the trailer yet? It looks amazing and may be able to convince you to overlook the creepy photos 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Thank you so much Beth!! I actually enjoy getting scared a bit as well 😂 I saw Slasher Girls and Monster Boys everywhere on social media last Halloween, so I will definitely be picking it up soon!

      As for Miss Peregrine’s, I’m saving the trailer until I read the first book 🤗 I want the reading experience to be a complete surprise ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I hope you like Slasher Girls and Monster Boys, if you like getting scared it’s the perfect book! 😀
        That sounds like a smart choice! Part of me wishes I’d done the same thing but as long as I read the book before seeing the movie I’ll be fine 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    I read the first one in the Miss Peregrine’s triology, because I was super hoping for a good scare. It has a few instances that are mildly scary, but overall the pictures are the scariest thing in there and I wouldn’t consider the plot to have many horror elements at all! But I guess you should take this comment with a grain of salt since I love horror books. (:

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

