Rambles & Recs: Unread Embarrassing Books

FotorCreated

Long time, no Sunday post bookworms! I am terribly sorry about not doing any of my weekly Discussion Sundays for quite a while now… It was mostly because I didn’t have the time with school and all and I didn’t want to post terribly written discussions, cause you know, quality over quantity. ALWAYS.

Anyways, I decided to make that up by creating another Sunday special post which I will refer to “Rambles & Recs”. Basically, it will happen every other week, and my blog will have a mix of both random fangirling in addition to the more serious(?) discussions.

So for today, I thought I would share with you my Top 15 most embarrassing unread books. I actually have a lot more because bookworm problems… But these are the ones I feel extremely ashamed about πŸ˜› The list will go from the least embarrassing to the most, so don’t freak out just after the first couple! Without further ado, let’s get started ❀

**********************************************************************

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

51at-2bhwvql-_sx327_bo1204203200_

Okay first off, we have Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I am totally ashamed of this one because I bought it to read right after I finished Fangirl and I STILL haven’t gotten to it… Have you guys read Carry On? I’m quite honestly scared that it will be too similar to my precious Harry Potter! (without all of it’s amazingness of course /*)

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

tumblr_o2hwqbg1hd1ulesryo1_400

I know what you must be thinking, this is just the beginning?!? And yes.. It unfortunately is *hides in shame* I am going to read this I swear, but I don’t know if I am willing to have my heart broken into a million pieces </3 THAT TRAILER THOUGH :O

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


I Am The Messenger by Marcus Zusak

19057

For those of you who don’t already know, The Book Thief by Marcus Zusak was by far, my favourite book of 2015. Actually scratch that. It is now one of my ALL TIME favourites EVER, meaning that it is up there with HP :O And though I recommend The Book Thief to every single person I meet, I still haven’t read Zusak’s other book, I am The Messenger! #Shame

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony DoerΒ 

all_the_light_we_cannot_see_doerr_novel

*Sigh* There is just something about award winning novels that scare the living daylights out of me… Like what if I don’t like it as much as everybody else? Though I am almost 100% sure that this will not be the case for All The Light We Cannot See.

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


The Infinite Sea by Rick YanceyΒ 

5th-wave-chloe-moretz-turning

I recently read The 5th Wave (in January of this year) so I really shouldn’t have to include this one. But! I have only read such terrible reviews about this sequel that I just can’t get myself to give it a go.

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


The House of Hades by Rick Riordan

The_House_of_Hades

*Cries all the shameful tears* I first read Percy Jackson in grade 4(?) so that was a LONG time ago. Basically, I grew up with this series and it is still one of the funniest, best books I have ever read. That being said, I didn’t continue with The Heroes of Olympus series because all of the books weren’t released. And now they are, and I don’t remember anything!!! (I think it’s time for a reread :P)

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

8490112

This trilogy has gotten A LOT of raving reviews by basically everyone I know. So I asked my mother to buy the box set for me last Christmas, (in all of it’s glory 😍)Β and guess who hasn’t even read the first page? πŸ™‹

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

855

The VA series is another well known and well loved series within the YA community. But I really don’t know how I feel about vampires being the main focus, so…

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


City of Bones by Cassandra Clare

city_of_bones

Before you say anything… I know, I know, I KNOW!!! Yes I still haven’t read TMI (or TID for the matter of fact) and THE FIRST BOOK IS SITTING ON MY SHELVES 😭 I’m just really scared of the hype okay?

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


Throne of Glass by Sarah J Mass

54-scared-gif-299

Okay why did I mention this one? I’m pretty sure all of you have your knives sharp and ready for me… I don’t think I need to say much, it’s THRONE OF GLASS!!

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

outlander-blue-cover-198x300

I really really want to read Outlander I do. But, it’s a massive adult series with a TON of books! But that amazing looking TV show keeps calling my name ❀ ❀ ❀

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


Ari & Dante Discover The Secrets of The Universe by Benjamin Alire SaenzΒ 

220px-aristotle_and_dante_discover_the_secrets_of_the_universe_cover

I don’t think I have ever heard anything bad about Aristotle and Dante.. So why haven’t I read it yet? Just look at my miles long TBR πŸ˜‚

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


A Game of Thrones by George R.R Martin

seeaspider-1433860136

I’m pretty sure none of you are surprise that ASOIAF is on this list… The books are soooooo long and I am terribly intimidated!

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


The Fellowship Of The RingΒ by J. R. R TolkienΒ 

giphy29

Yep.. I haven’t read The Lord Of The Rings series, or watched the movies :O I actually don’t know if I want to start them though! (Let me know what you thought of it)Β 

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository


Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

pride-and-prejudice_bn

This is BY FAR the most embarrassing book that I haven’t picked up yet! Classics seem to be the most intimidating books for me because I really, really want to like them as much as everybody else. That being said, you never know until you try, so Pride and Prejudice is definitely going to the top of my TBR πŸ˜€

GoodreadsΒ |Β AmazonΒ |Β Book Depository

**********************************************************************

And we are finished! Those are some of the books that I am embarrassed to admit that I have not yet read :O What are some books that you are embarrassed to still have on your TBR? Let me know in the comments below ❀

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAM|Β GOODREADSΒ |Β BLOGLOVIN

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Rambles & Recs: Unread Embarrassing Books

  1. cw @ readthinkponder says:

    Hahah Jenna! I’ll join you in Embarrassmentland, since I haven’t read most of these either!

    I’m still waiting for Me Before You; I reserved it through the library MONTHS ago and I think I’m 4th in line or something. πŸ˜…

    And as a New Zealander, I suppose it is my ethical obligation (ehhe!!) to say YOU MUST WATCH THE LOTR MOVIES! I am going to be a terrible bookworm and say… *whispers* it’s okay to not read the books!? The books are great and very descriptive, but the movies are just AMAZING in every way possible. I’ve probably watched the whole trilogy 10+ times and I’m not sick of it – and I don’t think I ever will be. WATCH IT JENNA! β™₯ You won’t regret it!

    Like

  2. transhaan says:

    HHAHA LOVE THIS TAG πŸ˜€ but yeeh its not embarrassing at all πŸ™‚ we all have different pace and priorities LOL ❀ Hopefully you get to enjoy them soon enough!! πŸ™‚ – Trang

    Like

  3. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    I will join you in the embarrassment and admit there are quite a few on your list I haven’t read yet either! Percy Jackson is on my to-read list but I haven’t read any of the books yet, I’m ashamed to admit. I also haven’t read Pride and Prejudice and honestly I don’t know if I ever will, I’m really not a fan of classics!
    Anyways your not the only one who hasn’t read all of these books, so I don’t think you should be embarrassed by it or anything, at least they’re on your to-read list!

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      That’s totally true Beth!! Here’s to not being embarrassed by our massive TBRs ❀️

      Percy Jackson is really really amazing and you should definitely start it asap. You do have to remember that it is middle grade (and bear with the younger vocabulary) but it does get way better in The Heroes of Olympus!

      And I am so glad I am not the only one who hasn’t read Pride and Prejudice. I did hear really great things about this one so I will be picking it up sooner rather than later.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

        I do have plans to start it soon, hopefully. It’s been bumped up my to-read list loads because of what people have said about it so honestly I’m really excited to start the series. I think there are gonna be loads of books I need to buy!
        I’m not sure about Pride and Prejudice. I have heard great things about it too but honestly I’ve yet to read a classics novel I’ve actually liked so that’s put me off a little. If you do read it/when you read it I’ll look forwards to seeing your review for it. Maybe if you enjoyed it I’ll put it on my to-read list!

        Liked by 1 person

      • FictionalNeverland says:

        Great to hear that Beth!! I’ll be looking forward to hearing your thoughts on PJ. Hopefully, they will all be positive πŸ˜‰

        And I will for sure write a spoiler free review for Pride and Prejudice when I get to it ❀️ If I love it, I may keep convincing you to give it a shot πŸ˜‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Kat Impossible says:

    I don’t think that list is embarrassing at all, even if there are some very hyped books on there. I haven’t read Throne of Glass either (waiting until the whole series is out) or Me Before You (should come in the mail next week though).
    However, I actually wanted to say something about I Am the Messenger. While I ADORE The Book Thief, none of Zusak’s works got near that level :/ the Messenger wasn’t bad at all, but somehow it didn’t grip me as much emotionally as the Book Thief did.

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Thank you for the reassurance Kat!! I did feel a tad bit embarrassed that I haven’t gotten to these hyped up books yet πŸ™Š Waiting for all the books in TOG sounds like a great idea, though I personally want to jump in the bandwagon with my bookish friends. As for Me Before You, I HAVE to watch it because the movie looks so amazing ❀️❀️❀️

      And I am so sorry to hear that 😭 I absolutely adored The Book Thief so I am admittedly worried about reading his other works. Maybe I’ll give it a try one day with low expectations!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Marie @ drizzleandhurricanebooks says:

    This post made me so happy, ahah, because I haven’t read some of those VERY hyped books either, such as Me Before You, Throne of Glass or LOTR -but I did watch the movies and they are AWESOME, you should watch them right now ! Aristotle and Dante was such a sweet, great read, I think you could really love it! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

