Book Review: Kill The Boy Band

kill-boy-band2Kill The Boy Band by Goldy Moldavsky

Series: Standalone

Published by Point on February 23, 2016

Genres: ARC & Review Copies, Contemporary, Fiction, Humour, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 320

Rating: ★★★

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Just know from the start that it wasn’t supposed to go like this. All we wanted was to get near them. That’s why we got a room in the hotel where they were staying.

We were not planning to kidnap one of them. Especially not the most useless one. But we had him—his room key, his cell phone, and his secrets.

We were not planning on what happened next.

We swear.

From thrilling new talent Goldy Moldavsky comes a pitch-black, hiarlious take on fandom and the badass girls who have the power to make—or break—the people we call “celebrities.”

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: ★★.5

Entertainment Rating: ★★★.5

Overall Rating: ★★★

Plot: Medium to Fast Paced | Absurd | Compelling | Could Have Been Better

Characters: Unreliable | May Be Offensive | Dark Humour | Cheesy & Stereotyped

World Building: Modern World | Realistic Portrayal Of Social Media | Day To Day Life

Writing: 1st Person | Unnamed Narrator | Really Simple | Half Mysterious Half Not

**********************************************************************

*I received a free ecopy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.   

MY REVIEW: 

Kill The Boy Band was the epitome of a balancing act with a definite guarantee that you will either absolutely LOVE the book or absolutely HATE it. Told from the perspective of an unnamed and often unreliable character, the story focuses on what it means to be a true fan and when you are stepping over the (quite frankly) blurry line. Honestly, there really is a distinct mood you have to be in, in order to enjoy this book. Full of unexpectedly dark, sadistic humour with undertones of mystery and crime, Kill The Boy Band is definitely not a book for everyone. 

“It was a lot like going to war. At least, that’s what I imagine going to war is like. Stalking boy bands was serious business.”

That being said, it was more often than not the “right” book for me. Though I had a constant pit of guilt in my stomach, I can’t say that I couldn’t relate to the characters (but trust me, I was never THAT crazy :P) because they were very realistically portrayed. None of the girls were original “fangirls” by any means; we have Erin, the picture perfect girl with a hidden dark streak, Isabel, a particularly violent girl who would do anything for some juicy gossip, Apple, the bigger adopted Asian girl with an unusual tendency to enjoy sexual activity and lastly, the unnamed narrator who deems herself the most “normal” out of the group. All of them as a whole were a little bit too cookie cutter for me, but I do have to give it up to this debut author for her well fleshed out characters.

Like the group of girls, The Ruperts weren’t also too special. They seemed to be a parody of One Direction, having British accents and being discovered on a TV talent show. Each Rupert had the sterotype of a boy band member. One was pretty, another buff, the third sweet and lastly the unfortunate “ugly” member. In addition to them all being named Rupert, the characterization weren’t done well enough for me to tell them apart. Sometimes Rupert X seemed like Rupert P and Rupert K like Rupert L and so on and so forth.  It was just a tad bit too confusing for me to keep track. 

“I loved The Ruperts for who they were, sure, but I mostly loved them for how they made me feel. Which was happy. The Ruperts made me happy. The simplest thing to be in the world. And the hardest.”

As for the plot, it was predictable but compelling nonetheless. I read quite a few Goodreads reviews endlessly raving about how surprising the “big” reveal was, but it ended up unfortunately not meeting my expectations. About 40% into the book I had already guessed the culprit and the reason behind their crime was extremely anticlimactic. (Why do all big reveals seem so lackluster nowadays??? Maybe it’s just me 😭) But the good thing was, though the whole story was quite clichéd, it somehow worked with the the author’s simple writing. Kill The Boy Band was almost impossible to put down, and I managed to finish it within 2 short sittings.

One of the aspects that made me want to give the book both a higher and a lower rating was the humour. (I settled on a equal 3 stars) Some parts of it was downright hilarious with the characters’ crazy stunts and all, but other parts could be considered seriously offensive. A big issue with this book was how it portrayed Apple’s body type. Apple is admittedly a bigger girl who embraces it, but there were one too many jokes for me to brush it off. She was constantly portrayed as the object who manages to knock over the boy band members and one that no one could manage to fight their way through. It became just too much by the end of the novel, and for people with weight sensitivity this book will probably be a problem. 

“At five feet four inches tall and 267 pounds, Apple was the lolly to our pixie sticks. And at top speeds I could only imagine she was deadly.” 

Other than that small detail, Kill The Boy Band was a fun, enticing, yet dark book that is bound to keep you up at night. Though it wasn’t anything too special or jaw dropping, I enjoyed the overall reading experience and couldn’t help but let out a laugh or two. I wouldn’t necessarily go out of my way to recommend this one, but if you are in the mood for dark humour I’m sure you’ll love it! 

“Because the truth is, it isn’t worth loving something if you aren’t going to love it all the way.” 

Note: All quotations are taken from the uncorrected proof and may differ from the finished copy. They’re subject to change.

**********************************************************************

Have you read Kill The Boy Band or are you planning to? What did you think of it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

One thought on “Book Review: Kill The Boy Band

Leave a Reply

