Book Review: Gone Girl

gone-girl-book-coverGone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Series: Standalone

Published by Broadway Books on April 22, 2014

Genres: Adult Fiction, Contemporary, Crime, Fiction, Love & Romance, Mystery, Realistic Fiction, Suspense, Psychological Thriller

Format: Audiobook

Pages: 422

Rating: ★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

On a warm summer morning in North Carthage, Missouri, it is Nick and Amy Dunne’s fifth wedding anniversary. Presents are being wrapped and reservations are being made when Nick’s clever and beautiful wife disappears. Husband-of-the-Year Nick isn’t doing himself any favors with cringe-worthy daydreams about the slope and shape of his wife’s head, but passages from Amy’s diary reveal the alpha-girl perfectionist could have put anyone dangerously on edge. Under mounting pressure from the police and the media—as well as Amy’s fiercely doting parents—the town golden boy parades an endless series of lies, deceits, and inappropriate behavior. Nick is oddly evasive, and he’s definitely bitter—but is he really a killer?

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: ★.5

Entertainment Rating: 

Overall Rating: ★.5

Plot: Slow to Extremely Fast Paced | Page Turner | UNEXPECTED PLOT TWIST | Mind Blown

Characters: Absolutely Horrible But Unfortunately Realistic | Definition of Complex | Messed Up | Cunning & Manipulative | WHAT IS WRONG WITH THEM ?!

World Building: Modern World | Well Described Relationships Within Society | Day To Day Life | Investigations & Political Aspects

Writing: 1st Person (Duel Perspective) | Regular Chapters With Woven Diary Entries | Simple But Fitting | Quietly Beautiful | Fascinating

**********************************************************************

*Trigger Warning for Abuse (physical / verbal), Adult Content, Alcohol, Cussing, Drug Use, Murder and Sexual Assault. If you are sensitive to any of the topics above, PLEASE do not read this book. No book is worth damaging your physical/mental health!* 

MY REVIEW: 

Well, It’s official. Gone Girl takes the cake as the most messed up book I have EVER read. This mind blower of a book took all the cliches of a psychological thriller and threw it easily out the window. To be honest, I really didn’t know what I was expecting with all the buzz about the book and it’s movie adaptation, but the one thing I do know for sure is that Gone Girl was a wickedly delightful read. 

“There’s something disturbing about recalling a warm memory and feeling utterly cold.”

The synopsis of the book sounds typical enough. The story takes place in Missouri where Nick and Amy Dunn, a seemingly happy couple had moved to a couple years back. In present day, it is their 5th wedding anniversary, a day of supposed celebration, yet when Nick returns to his house, Amy is missing. Instead, what lies in front of him is their living room, completely destroyed and torn apart. Utterly shocked and horrified, Nick immediately calls the police, yet when they arrive, he soon becomes the prime suspect. Sounds like a typical mystery? I thought so to0 at first but alas, the execution is most definitely not.

Gone Girl is told in alternating point of views, switching from Nick’s chapters in the present day to Amy’s journal entries from the first time they met to a couple days prior to her disappearance. Flynn’s way of executing this duel perspective is absolutely fascinating. The way she weaves intricate webs of mystery and suspense alongside the clear, distinct voices of Nick and Amy is definitely one to be applauded. I always knew who I was listening to and the way their thoughts on the same things contradicted to each other’s was a real eye opener for me about the reality of marriages.

The characters Flynn fabricates are even more amazing than the plot itself. The thing about psychological thrillers is that they need to have complex characters in order to achieve the mysterious aspect of the story. Nick and Amy were not likeable by any means. Other than not knowing who to believe, I also did not know who to cheer for at all. One chapter I would be on Nick’s side and in the next couple of pages, I would be on Amy’s. It was as if I was watching a ping pong game, my head continuously swishing from one side to the other. They were toxic apart and even more so toxic together. But the funny thing is, they really do deserve each other, countless flaws and all.

“We weren’t ourselves when we fell in love, and when we became ourselves – surprise! – we were poison. We complete each other in the nastiest, ugliest possible way.”

So the first and main point of view we get is Nick Dunn. Throughout the whole book and even now, I didn’t like Nick. Not one single itty bitty bit. He is the classic definition of an a-hole; menacing towards women, cold hearted, calculating. Basically, I HATED HIM. I did not feel sympathetic towards him until part 2, when those of you who have read Gone Girl would know what happens. He was a well written character though, I’ll give him that. His family was well explored, his relationship with his twin sister Go was by far my favourite and his attitude, while plain cruel admittedly made somewhat of a sense. I actually had no problem with him as the main character to read from, though I did want to smack him on the head more than a couple of times XD

Amy Elliott Dunn is a whole another level on the character scale. She is the only daughter out of 9 miscarriages and stillborns thus being absolutely treasured by her parents, Mary Beth and Rand Elliott. *Sigh* She is yet another main protagonist in this book that the majority of people wouldn’t like. Amy is privileged; exceptionally so, with a large sum of money in her trust fund, and private schooling in addition to extra curricular activities ranging from languages to music as a child. And that’s not all… She even has “Amazing Amy”, a children’s book series written by her parents about just how awesome and perfect she is. Yep. Not that likeable I know. But just you wait, after you finish Gone Girl, you will end up seeing Miss Amy Elliott Dunn  from a completely different perspective.

I was pleasantly surprised at how overall well developed the side characters were. No one was really a standout cliche and they all rather stood on their own two feet when it came to their development and personality. Again, except for Go and possibly Nick’s mother, none of the characters are particularly ones I would go out of my way to read about. Instead, they are deeply flawed and dark, continuously making the reader doubt the legitimacy of everything they say. 

“It’s a very difficult era in which to be a person, just a real, actual person, instead of a collection of personality traits selected from an endless Automat of characters.”

The only real problem I identified with this book was the rather slow pacing of the first part in the story. Frankly, there was just too much information about Nick and Amy’s finance issues and day to day life. They were interesting characters of course, but when the pages dragged on and on, my attention started to drift away and I ended up wondering when the plot was going to pick up. When it did though, things went absolutely CRAZY. I couldn’t get enough of the story after that, and I always brought the audiobook everywhere I went. The narrators’ voices were enchanting and perfect for Nick and Amy, their emotions just as I imagined them in real life.

Last but certainly not the least, I want to talk about the ending. There won’t be any spoilers so don’t you worry, but I know a lot of people had mixed responses to the conclusion. Personally, I was a bit okay more than a little disappointed. At the same time however, I felt as if it was extremely realistic and the only way the story could have ended. The truth is, we really don’t know what is going through the mind of others and the only thing we can do is take a tentative guess. It takes some guts to write an ending like the one Flynn did, and while it wasn’t as satisfying as I would have liked, it all made sense at the end.

By the end of this rather long review, you should now be fully aware that I absolutely adored this book. Though it was by no means a happy story or one you should pick up when you are feeling down, Gone Girl was a real groundbreaking psychological thriller that shook me to my roots. Heart pounding, shock inducing and terrifying real, this is a book that should not be missed.

“There’s a difference between really loving someone and loving the idea of her.”

**********************************************************************

Have you read Gone Girl or are you planning to? What did you think of it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Gone Girl

  1. Pingback: The Wine Book Tag
  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Oh my god, I love this. I LOVE GONE GIRL for the simple fact that it was just super fun and twisty, despite the horrible, manipulative characters. But those are fun to read about too. Amy is SO CRAZY. But I love how crazy she is, because wow, it does make for a very good story. 😛

    Have you seen the movie yet? I thought Rosamund Pike was great as Amy.

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Gone Girl was definitely twisty and messed up in the best way possible! Amy though was way crazier than I could have ever imagined 😱 She was so scary in part 2 that I couldn’t even believe that she was the same character!

      And no, I haven’t watched the movie yet but I really want to!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it ❤️

      Like

  3. rantandraveaboutbooks says:

    Nice review! I loved this book. Amazing Amy is by far one of my favorite characters. She’s such an unreliable narrator that I couldn’t stop reading. And Flynn’s writing, although a bit slowed down at times, is excellent. She reminds me of Stephen King the way she writes. Her other books were also good, but Gone Girl is my favorite.

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Thank you so much! Amy is such a messed up character and her development in the second half of the novel blew my mind :O I actually have yet to read her other novels, but I heard excellent things about them.
      As for Stephen King, I am a bit hesitant to start on his books. I know he gets a lot of hype but I get scared quite easily… Do you think they would be too intense?

      Liked by 1 person

      • rantandraveaboutbooks says:

        I really liked Flynn’s other books. But nothing beats Amazing Amy. Her character was so perfectly flawed I couldn’t get enough. I knew she was a liar from the beginning, but that innocent act almost fooled me. And Nick… Grrr! He really annoyed me. What a jerk! I was like good for you, Amy. Haha! Some of King’s books are not scary, but I’m one of those people who watched The Shining by myself in the dark for the extra fear factor element, so I’m probably not the best person to ask if something is scary. 😉 King’s writing is phenomenal though.

        Liked by 1 person

      • FictionalNeverland says:

        Amazing Amy is quite the character 😂 Nick was so annoying, I never once felt bad for him at the start!
        Which books would you recommend? (Out of the non scary ones of course 😘)

        Like

  4. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    This book was so intense. I finished it and I hated the characters so much that I couldn’t even tell if I liked the dang story (though I read it super fast, so my brain was definitely into it). The plot twists are crazy in this. Gah, just writing this comment is making me think about those characters all over again and think about how much I hated them!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

