Discussion Sundays: All About Spoilers

Sock Sunday Edit

Happy Sunday folks! Today I am finally back with a new Discussion Sunday post πŸ˜€ The inspiration for this week’s topic suddenly hit me whenΒ my mother unfortunately spoiler the ending for Me Before You by Jojo Moyes… I’ll admit I was extremely quite furious at first because SPOILERS. HOW I HATE THOU. but then again I had to forgive her cause you know, she’s my mom ❀ A quick reminder before we start:

As always, “Discussion Sundays”Β will help me get to know all of you better and for us bibliophiles to be honest with each other, without judging or comparing ourselves to anyone else. The only things I will ask for everyone to do is to a) be true to yourself, even if your answers/reasons aren’t the same as mine/anybody else’s I would LOVE to hear it! b) be respectful to each other and don’t negativelyΒ criticize people’s comments/opinions.Β Without further ado, let’s get right on to our topic!

giphy7


**********************************************************************

*Disclaimer: There are NO ACTUAL SPOILERS in this post so you are all safe to read on πŸ˜€ *

Today’s Topic:Β Spoilers

First off, what is classified as a spoiler?

For differentΒ people this can mean various things but for me, a spoiler can be basically anything that readersΒ shouldn’t already know before going into the book. It doesn’t always have to be the ending or a big plot twist (though it often is) because I consider details about the character’s secret background or the mention of a love triangle (unless it’s within the synopsis)Β a spoiler. Maybe it’s just me being paranoid aboutΒ wanting to know nothing except the basic premise of a book, but I really do HATE spoilers!

giphy8


My Thoughts:Β 

As you can already tell by my personalized definition, I am a very strict reader when it comes to spoilers. Actually, I don’t like getting spoiled for movies and TV shows either and it all comes down to one simple reason. It takes a large chunk away from the enjoyment of aΒ book / movie / TV show! I love reading obviously, but I don’t like knowing exactly what the story is about or when the plot twists are about to happen.Β I don’t know about you guys, but when I know a book has something ominous going on, I get so nervous after every chapter wondering “Is this it? Is this it? Is this it?”And more often than not, it a) Isn’t the big reveal or b) It is and it’s extremely anticlimactic or easy to guess. These two potentialΒ choices aren’t my cup of tea and I am 100% more likely to enjoy myself when I have no expectations going into a story with only the hope that it’s a good one.Β 

giphy9

So what do I like to know before starting a book? Only something extremely basic. I prefer knowing the genre, the POV the story is told from and what the primary storyline is. For example, the amazingly awesome Harry Potter Series by J.K.Rowling (of course I picked this book… But I digress :P)Β is about a boy named Harry who one day discovers he is a wizard. He gets whisked away to Hogwarts, where is my dang letter?!?Β a school for Witchcraft and Wizardry where he learns how to use and control his powers. Finito. That’s all I need to pick up this book. Of course, I could go on and on about Ron and Hermione and Draco and Voldemort and so on, but looking back, I am SO GLAD that I didn’t know about that! It was truly much more magical to just discover the wizarding world for myself. I felt as if I was in Harry shoes, and that is an experience that I will never forget.

So say that you got spoiled. We have all been there done that. In addition to Me Before You, I was spoiled for Allegiant (Like everybody else XD), Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince (This one made me so mad and I never spoke to my “friend” again), The Fault In Our Stars (Unfortunately no tears at the end from me :O), Mockingjay (WHYYYYYY???) and countless more. 😦 What can we do? Well, we can either sob and whine like we all do at first and never pick up the book. Or… We can just suck it up and accept the fact that itΒ happened. Let’s not judge a book by it’s spoilers shall we? They all deserve their love and attention regardless of what ignorant people might have done for their destruction. Every time I get spoiled for a book, I take it as an incentive to rather look at how the story unfolds from a bigger perspective. Even if you know what is exactly going to happen, the story is still meaningful (If it’s a good one) and you will be able to spend more time looking deeper into the technicality of a book rather than getting surprised every single chapter.Β Who knows? Maybe it will help us as reviewers to pick up on some details that we might have otherwise missed. Basically, spoilers suck in general but if they happen, they happen. We can’t let them take over our joy for reading. Let’s be real, nothing can!

tumblr_inline_monv73fy201qz4rgp

**********************************************************************

And those are all of my thoughts for today! It’s your turn:

How do you feel about spoilers? Do they completely take away your interest for a book? What are some of the books you have been spoiled for? I would love any opinions or thoughts on this topic! Let’s discuss in the comments below πŸ™‚

giphy10

As always, thanks for reading loves xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAM|Β GOODREADSΒ |Β BLOGLOVIN

 

8 thoughts on “Discussion Sundays: All About Spoilers

  1. Katy says:

    Cool discussion! I don’t know if I’ve ever been book-spoiled or that I’ve spoiled books for others. Spoilers for me with books usually comes down to being careful which reviews I read or trying to avoid adaptation details. Tv Shows, on the other hand, I’m very strict and protective about spoilers. The Walking Dead is my favorite so when filming for a new season starts, I pretty much dismiss myself from the internet to avoid them. lol

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Thank you for stopping by! I do the exact same thing with removing myself from the Internet for my favourite books πŸ˜‚ How is The Walking Dead? Is it as scary as it seems or is it worth watching? ❀️

      Like

  2. Ali (@thebandarblog) says:

    Haha, your first paragraph made me chuckle, because my mom totally spoiled what happens to Dumbledore toward the end of the series (I’ll leave that vague for the few people living under rocks that haven’t read it) back when the book came out and I was SO MAD at her! Spoilers are the freaking worst as far as I’m concerned. But then again, my mom LOVES them. I get so mad at her, because she’ll demand to know what happens to a specific character and if I don’t tell her she’ll stop reading it or just google it herself (she’s the worst!!)! Usually that’s if she’s really worried about a character making it. I guess everyone is a little different (:

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      My mom is exactly the same!! She loves getting spoiled and always asks me what happens at the end of each book or movie πŸ™ˆ I recently read Gone Girl and she was trying to get me to tell her what happened to Amy… (I didn’t of course, but who knows? Maybe she searched it up on the Internet πŸ˜‚)

      And I’m so glad you enjoyed this post! I loved writing / ranting about a topic that hits so close to home ❀️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

