Book Review: Summer of Supernovas

summer-of-supernovasSummer of Supernovas by Darcy Woods

Series: Standalone

Published by Crown Books for Young Readers on May 10, 2016

Genres: ARC & Review Copies, Contemporary, Fiction, Love & Romance, Realistic Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 352

Format: eARC from Publisher

Rating: ★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Fans of Jennifer E. Smith and Jenny Han will fall in love with this heartfelt and humor-laced debut following one girl’s race to find the guy of her cosmic dreams.
 
When zodiac-obsessed teen Wilamena Carlisle discovers a planetary alignment that won’t repeat for a decade, she’s forced to tackle her greatest astrological fear: The Fifth House—relationships and love.
 
But when Wil falls for a sensitive guitar player hailing from the wrong side of the astrology chart, she must decide whether a cosmically doomed love is worth rejecting her dead mother’s legacy and the very system she’s faithfully followed through a lifetime of unfailing belief.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: 

Entertainment Rating: 

Overall Rating: ★.5

Plot: Smooth & Easy To Read | Unputdownable | A Little Cliched & Predictable | Feel Good Contemporary

Characters: Wonderfully Developed | Sweet Relationships All Around (Romance, Family & Friends) | Pop Out Of The Pages | Easy To Relate To | BFF Material

World Building: None (Contemporary) | Cozy Town Feel | Realistic & Well Described

Writing: 1st Person POV | Insightful & Heartfelt | Quote Worthy | Perfect For The Genre | Fun Tidbits on Astrology

**********************************************************************

*I received a free ecopy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.   

MY REVIEW: 

My reaction after finishing Summer of Supernovas:

tumblr_inline_o0urhhgyal1tocshr_500-thumb-83663b6e57e8ace0c55f949b69879cdb

“Love can’t be measured or quantified like stars. It’s messy and unpredictable. Hell, sometimes it’s even wrong. And sometimes wrong is right.”

Oh my stars! My luck must have perfectly aligned the day I decided to pick up Summer of Supernovas. I didn’t know exactly what I was in for but after DNFing my last read, all I wanted was a compelling summer time story with an adorable romance. And guess what? That’s exactly what I got! But in addition to the fun facts about star signs and horoscopes, debut author Woods knew exactly how to deliver a meaningful punch when I least expected an impact.

The story starts off when our main protagonist, Wilamena Carlisle (who goes by Wil for short) decides that it is officially time for her to face her biggest fear. She needs to find a boy, one that exactly matches the description of her astrology chart. Sagittarius. Born on December 18. This all sounds too picky and almost impossible to achieve, yet after her expert astrologer mother passed away, the only thing Wil had to remember her by was the stars. The stars that would always tell the truth. Enter Grant. He is everything Wil wants yet posses all the characteristics that the chart would tell her to avoid. Behind him is Seth, the perfect Sagittarius that would make her mother exclaim in approval. But Wil has no time to waste, seconds are quickly ticking by and she has to choose her fate within the next 22 days. Or wait another 12 years.  

“Yeah, that magical thing you believe in, even if other people don’t.”

You automatically know you are reading a good book when you are within a few short pages hooked into the story. Woods starts out Summer of Supernovas this way, without any signs of hesitation or doubt in her characters. From the very first moment I met her, I knew Wil was a girl I would love to be best friends with. Quirky, loyal and true to herself, she is unafraid of standing out regardless of what people think. Though I personally don’t put my faith in the stars, I could always relate to her on some emotional and spiritual level and connect to her, regardless of the situation.

My favourite aspect of the book was by far Wil’s relationship with her grandmother. These two lovely ladies were like two peas in a pod and despite all of their arguments, I could see that it was all purely made out of love. Their interactions continuously reminded me of my own grandma and I more than once, desperately wanted to fly across the world to give her a tight hug. Another great character dynamic in Summer of Supernovas is the female friendship between Wil and her best friend, Irvina. Just like Wil, Irvina is quite a character with her own set of rules to play by. As more of a sister than a friend, Irvina always has Wil’s back and is ferociously protective of her younger sibling. She doesn’t let anyone talk bad about Wil and if they do… Well they better be careful where they are treading!

“But you’re more than my best friend, Wil. You’re my sister, too,”

Of course, we can’t forget about the romance, can we? You all know the classic yet most hated trope in all of YA… Love triangles :X Yep! This book has one, but just before you all run the other way, I want to let you know that despite the little bits of cliches thrown here and there, it was mostly well done. From the synopsis I think you can already tell who Wil ends up with, so throughout the time I was mostly just interested in whether she could let go of her stubbornness and trust her heart. The romance wasn’t the only part of the story and though central, it also played an impactful role in the development of the characters.

Needless to say, though I didn’t mind Seth, I’m solidly Team #Grant. He is one swoon worthy musician with such a chill personality, not to mention how hilarious his first encounter with Wil was! (Trust me guys, the beginning was one of the most creative scenes I have EVER read) They were perfect together and just fit from the start you know? No one was hiding anything from the other and everything felt simultaneously natural and real. It was a clean romance which you don’t often see in YA and though there was a love triangle, it was dealt with in a fairly mature fashion.

“You asked me once what brought me back from my darkness. It was music. But more than that, it was putting my faith in people again.”

All I have left to say is this, if you are looking for an honest, heartwarming story that you cannot put down, I would 100% recommend Summer of Supernovas. Coming from a debut author, I was so happily surprised at the myriad of emotion that overcame me as I read page after page, savouring each word. Like the synopsis suggests, this kind of book only comes once in a supernova, so if it even remotely sounds interesting to you, do yourself the kind favour and pick it up!

Note: All quotations are taken from the uncorrected proof and may differ from the finished copy. They’re subject to change.

**********************************************************************

Have you read Summer of Supernovas or are you planning to? What did you think of it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

tumblr_nwr2qjtpop1tg2539o1_500

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

 

3 thoughts on “Book Review: Summer of Supernovas

Leave a Reply

