Rambles & Recs: Books I Will NEVER Read

Happy Sunday fellow bibliophiles! I am back with another biweekly Rambles & Recs post on my blog where I share with you some book recommendations based usually on the mood/genre, as well as talk informally about my reading life.

For today, I thought I would let you guys know twelve books that I will most likely NEVER read. Before you say anything… I know, I know, never say never and all that, but with these books, I’m going to need some serious convincing 😛 Hope you guys won’t get too offended with any of my choices because they are my opinion and my opinion only. Let’s get started!

giphy5

**********************************************************************

50 Shades of Grey by E L James

547

I’m going to start and end this post with a bang! 50 Shades of Grey sounds absolutely TERRIBLE and because of the negative reviews it receives on a daily basis, it will never be read by my innocent eyes.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Delirium by Lauren Oliver

bookcover_home_delirium

I tried so hard to get into Lauren Oliver’s writing but I JUST CAN’T DO IT 😦 Delirium seems to be one of her best works according to the ratings but no more dystopians for me at the moment </3

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


The Scorch Trials by James Dashner

zz028a24c7

I read The Maze Runner a couple years ago and despite my hardest efforts, I DNFed it about half way through. Needless to say, I’m not going to continue on with this trilogy though I might give the movie a try!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Fallen by Lauren Kate

fallen_cover

Angel books when done wrong are just horrific. Lauren Kate’s Fallen seems to be an exceptional example of this according to my Goodreads friends, so a no go for me :O

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater

giphy4

Don’t get me wrong, I absolutely ADORE Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle (or what I have read so far-which is only the first book…) but Shiver sounds too far fetched for me; werewolves and extremely annoying characters? I had enough of that with America Singer 😛

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Gathering Blue by Lois Lowry

515sngy0eql-_sx331_bo1204203200_

This one might be a little bit controversial, but I really didn’t like The Giver as a child. While I cannot argue with how stunning the new editions are, I think I just am not feeling Dystopians anymore.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

enders-game-film-poster

Ender’s Game seems to be loved by A LOT of people yet when I was forced to read it for school back in 7th grade, I skimmed it and did my project based off of SparkNotes. (Shh! Don’t tell my teacher because I actually got a perfect score, what?!?) I found the main character to be unrelatable and quite boring to be honest.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

beautifulcreaturesgarciastohl

The Beautiful Creatures series I didn’t know about until I joined Instagram, but it seems to be fairly popular for the most part. I heard the books get worse as the story progresses and for me, that is one of my biggest pet peeves 😦

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


The 100 by Kass Morgan

tumblr_inline_n5sf2dbq0r1sn95bh

The 100 is actually a TV show on Netflix and while I definitely want to watch it on screen, I heard TERRIBLE things about the book. I find it really weird when TV or movie adaptations are better than the original books but hey, at least one of them is good 😛

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick 

hushhush

Another angel book that I have no interest in. Everything from the cover to the name sounds ridiculous in my opinion. Other than Hush, Hush, I also probably won’t pick up Fitzpatrick’s Black Ice.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Marked by P.C. Cast

30183

The House of Night series just has WAY TOO MANY books that I can’t keep up with them. It is one thing to be a trilogy but another to have twelve!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


Twilight by Stephanie Meyer

giphy3

I hope none of you hardcore Twilight fans will hate me… But I honestly have no interest in reading the series! When the hype around Edward vs Jacob was crazy, I was still in elementary school with my Harry Potter and Junie B Jones books 😀

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

**********************************************************************

What are some books that you will never read? Do you think I should rethink some of my choices? Let me know in the comments below 😀

giphy6

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

9 thoughts on “Rambles & Recs: Books I Will NEVER Read

  1. Sally says:

    I’ve tried to read LOTR a couple times, but I just couldn’t get into the writing. It made me sad, because I love epic fantasy. I also will probably never read 50 Shades. I’ve seen quotes from it, and it seems like the writing is quite awkward, and not a bit subtle.
    I got into Twilight before all the hype started, and I do think the first book is worth reading. It’s a lot better than the movies anyhow. After the first book, things get a little obsessive and crazy though.

    Like

  2. Aralyn says:

    I can definitely understand where you’re coming from with these books. I will NEVER read 50 shades. I haven’t heard of Delirium, but I’m working on other dystopians anyway.
    I DID read the Maze Runner trilogy…probably coulda read something better in that time…especially ’cause the ending was lacking, IMO. Read Fallen and Hush, Hush, but forget EVERYTHING and have no urge to try again. DNF the Shiver series, also no urge there (but reading TRC!). Liked The Giver, but not the other books.
    Read Ender’s Game and I agree with you. And it was just…slow and kinda stunted writing.
    OMG, DNF Marked series. Not because the number, but the MC got worse for me; seemed to become a slut with, like, 4 guys pining. The first 3 were good, though.
    DNF Twilight, but made it partway through Eclipse. #regret

    Sorry for sayin so much! (You don’t have to respond to it all) But I liked this post 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Don’t apologize for commenting! I’m so glad you have read and felt the same way about some of these books 🙈 I really don’t think I’ve heard too many good things about them anyway that they are just not a priority for me. Have you watched the movie adaptations for Twilight or The Maze Runner?

      Like

  3. BeanCountingBookworm says:

    I will probably never read LOTR or finish the hunger games. Also I don’t think I’ll ever get to any Holly Black books because I just don’t like her writing or any vampire books (maybe true blood being the exception).

    I also gave up with fallen so don’t blame you on that one but I honestly enjoyed hush,hush because I love angels and fallen angels but it’s sort of light so it’s a nice break for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      I totally understand where you are coming from 😉 I don’t think I’ll ever read LOTR either and The Hunger Games is one of my most beloved series ever but I didn’t really like the ending 🙈

      I’m a little bit done with light reads so a no go for me for Fallen and the Hush, Hush series!

      Liked by 1 person

      • BeanCountingBookworm says:

        I’ve switched to contemporary for light reading because I read so much fantasy that sometimes I need a break.

        Like

Leave a Reply

