Book Review: Spanish Lessons

spanishlessons-610x915Spanish Lessons by Jessica Peterson

Series: Study Abroad #1

Published by Peterson Paperbacks in March 2016

Genres: Contemporary, Love & Romance, New Adult, Realistic Fiction

Pages: 260

Format: Kindle Freebie

Rating: ★.5

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Vivian Bingley has big plans for her semester abroad in Spain…

Along with her BFF, Maddie, Vivian hopes to indulge her inner Art History nerd by visiting the best museums in the world. She also wants to tackle more practical concerns—like a less than stellar GPA in her major, Economics—with the help of a Spanish tutor.

But falling for her studly Spanish tutor definitely isn’t one of them.

Madrileño Rafa Montoya is the stuff study abroad dreams are made of: super studly and super smart. He also happens to be super into Vivian. With his wicked dancing skills and his passion for the arts, he tempts her to throw caution to the wind and live out her wildest dreams.

Only problem? Maddie wants Rafa, too, and Vivian promised herself she’d never settle for second best again…not after a hookup-gone-awry last semester left her heartbroken. Is it best for Vivian to protect her heart at all costs? Or is letting Rafa in worth the risk?

This book is a New Adult contemporary romance, suitable for mature audiences.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: 

Entertainment Rating: 

Overall Rating: ★.5

Plot: Medium Paced | Kind of Typical | Light & Quick To Read | Love Triangle Warning (Sort of, definitely not like Twilight or The Selection)

Characters: Progressively Likeable (Main Character) | Book Boyfriend Material | Amazing Romance | Respectful | Self Discovery

World Building: Made Me Want To Travel | Beautiful Architecture & Artwork | Food Descriptions | Felt Like I Was There

Writing: 1st Person POV | Fitting For The Genre | Nothing Too Special | Smooth & Flowy

**********************************************************************

MY REVIEW: 

After seeing Christina’s review and realizing the ebook was free on Amazon Kindle, I decided to hesitantly dip my feet into the genre of New Adult. I had only read Maybe Someday by Colleen Hoover before and while I absolutely LOVED it, I also knew it was one of the better NAs out there. Spanish Lessons was quite honestly exactly what I expected, a little cliched and obvious but nonetheless entertaining and fast paced.

“Maybe it’s not doing what I should do that requires courage. Maybe it’s doing what I want to do that is the courageous thing.”

In this first instalment we follow Vivian, a university student who like many others her age struggle with finding out her true passion about what she wants to do in life. Though hear heart longs for the beautiful artwork lining the walls of the museum, her mind pushes her towards economics, a major deemed as stable and worthy of her time. Vivian is given a once in a life opportunity to study abroad with fellow students of her school and when she gets to Spain, not only does the sculptures catch her eyes but so does Rafa, a swoon worthy Spaniard.

I’m going to say this right off the bat. Vivian was extremely annoying and unlikeable… At first. She had recently broken up with her ex and while I get that she was heart broken, there is only so much wishy washy I can take. I knew (and she knew!) exactly what she wanted with both Rafa and her career but she always ended up relying on others to make that decision for her. Her lack of communication also really bugged me and while I liked her more than her best friend Maddie, it wasn’t much of a competition to begin with.

“I always think you are beautiful, but you are the most beautiful when you talk about the things you love.”

But enough of the negatives, let’s get onto my favourite part, Rafa! I’ll admit when he first appeared I rolled my eyes a bit and said “not again…” but over the span of a couple pages, he managed to steal my heart as much as he did Vivian’s. Yes he was the cliche type of gorgeous with deep eyes and all, but he was also so unexpectedly gentle and kind to everyone around him. Though a love triangle could have easily formed, I had no doubt in my mind that Rafa never once dwindled in his love for Vivian and that she was the only romantic love interest for him. Another great thing about Rafa was how realistic his English speaking was. As he was fully Spanish and lived in Spain, his fluency in the English language wasn’t second nature and the awkwardly broken words were rather adorable to read.

Besides me clearly preferring one character over the other, Vivian and Rafa’s relationship was one thing I could fully support. As many of my favourite couples do, they helped each other improve in more ways than one, yet were independent enough to steadily stand on their own. Rafa who is a couple years older, really aided Vivian in acknowledging her true career path and Vivian always stood behind him ready to cheer on his every move. They were adorable and legitimately hot-hot-hot! Some scenes made me embarrassed enough to skim read but that probably just had to be me with my lack of expertise on the NA genre. (I know A LOT of people loved it though!) 

“I want to know you,” he continues. “Everything about you, I want to know. I’m not going to judge you.”

Writing wise, Peterson managed to maintain a solid style complimenting the story. Though there was nothing extravagant or extraordinary, it was one that could be easily wolfed down in one sitting. As far as the world building goes, I have never been to Spain (yet) but the portrayal was descriptive enough to make me want to catch a flight ASAP. I don’t know how accurate any of the architecture was but for what it is in the story, it was quite well done.

All in all, Spanish Lessons was a well written NA romance with a fun setting, amazing book boyfriend and minimal issues. Although I would have preferred something a little more original, it gave me what I came for (entertainment) and got the job done. I don’t know if I would neccessarily go out of my way to recommend it, but I myself am thinking about picking up the next book! 

“Somewhere along this twisty, sometimes terrible, sometimes amazing path that led us to this moment, I fell in love.”

**********************************************************************

Have you read Spanish Lessons or are you planning to? What did you think of it? Do you have any NA recommendations for me? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Spanish Lessons

  1. Pingback: The Wine Book Tag
  2. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    This book looks really cool! I thought it was a graphic novel based on the cover… and it doesn’t have that new adult feel to me, but hey, what do I know!

    I’m glad to hear that overall you enjoyed it though – that’s kind of why I read in the first place, and if a book entertains me I usually get soft about criticising it. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • FictionalNeverland says:

      Isn’t this new cover really cute? The original one is not my fave though 😂 And that’s exactly what I do. Despite trying my hardest to be critical and fair, entertaining books are well entertaining!

      Like

Leave a Reply

