Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people at BrokeandBookish. Last week was about our most anticipated releases of the second half of 2016, and this week it’s all about the books that have already come out this year. But because I am a slowpoke with an endless TBR, I unfortunately haven’t gotten to many books that were newly released. So… Instead, here are ten books that were already published this year that I can’t believe I haven’t got to!

toptentuesday

giphy21

**********************************************************************

1. Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

20983362

There was a lot of hype for Passenger in January and by a lot I mean, A LOT. So though I haven’t even started Bracken’s Darkest Minds trilogy, I was thinking about purchasing this one. But thennnn… The reviews came trickling in and let’s just say, they were not the greatest. So I don’t know :p Do you guys think I should pick this up?

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


2. Truthwitch by Susan Dennard

21414439

Another January release that was hyped up to the bone. Unlike Passenger, I caved into buying Truthwitch so I can’t believe I still haven’t gotten to it yet :O I’ve never read a witch book before so this should be interesting…

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


3. This Is Where It Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

24529123

Even after the mixed responses that This Is Where It Ends seemed to get, I am absolutely DYING to pick this up! The premise sounds so compelling and important to read about, the story revolves around a school shooting (which I’m guessing most of you know) is currently a serious issue in the United States.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


4. The Forbidden Wish by Jessica Khoury

ForbiddenWish_BOM.indd

The Forbidden Wish not only has a stunning cover but it’s also a retelling about the genie who in this book is a girl ❤ That sounds so up my alley, gimme, gimme, gimme!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


5. Salt To The Sea by Ruta Sepetys

25614492

I’m slightly slacking in the historical fictional department which is quite sad considering the fact that along with fantasy, it’s my absolute favourite genre. Salt To The Sea by Ruta Sepetys along with her other works, has been on my TBR ever since it’s publication was announced.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


6. The Star Touched Queen by Roshani Chokshi

25203675

This book has been getting quite the buzz on the blogosphere lately so I can’t wait to see what I think for myself! The Star Touched Queen has some aspects of Indian Mythology which just sounds so freaking cool.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


7. The Love The Split The World by Emily Henry

51hdo1g8asl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I honestly don’t know why no one is talking about this book anymore 😦 It was really loved in the earlier months of this year yet I feel like the buzz has suddenly died down. Nevertheless, I’m still super stoked to get to The Love That Split The World because not only is it magical realism, it is also Emily Henry’s debut novel!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


8.The Rose & The Dagger by Renee Adhieh

23308084

And onto the three sequels we go. The Rose & The Dagger has been on my TBR along with The Wrath & The Dawn since the first book had been released. It’s about time I get to them, don’t you think?!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


9. The Winner’s Kiss by Marie Rutkoski

20443235

This one I’m sooooo shamed about because every time I try to pick it up, I put it down, not because it’s bad (mind you I haven’t even read the first word) but because I’m TERRIFIED for Kestrel & Arin 😭 Someone reassure me or something without any spoilers, I need to stop putting The Winner’s Kiss off because deep down I want to read it super badly.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


10. The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

17378527

One of my most anticipated released of this year, The Raven King has given us the grace of it’s presence. Yet I STILL haven’t read The Dream Thieves because school and life sucks 😂 Marathoning the whole quartet in the summer? You bet I am 👊🏼

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

**********************************************************************

And we are finished! Those are some newly released books that I can’t believe I still haven’t read. Have you read any of these or are there some you are also dying to get to? I would love to hear your thoughts and recommendations, make sure to let me know all about it in the comments below ❤

giphy22

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 2016 Releases I Can’t Believe I Haven’t Read

  1. Rissi says:

    I haven’t read “Passenger” either (and had previously really wanted to) or ANY of Marie’s books, which look stunning! On the plus side I did see this third book on lots of TTT lists this past week, so that’s a very good sign! Also, I did read “Truthwitch” and it was good. 🙂

    Like

  2. Aralyn says:

    I really need to read some of the recent releases, too (T^T) I have Star-Touched Queen on my TBR. And I also only just read The Raven Boys! So I’m right there with ya! I also have only read The Winner’s Curse, so I gotta catch up.
    As for Passenger, I DNF at about 60%… It was boring for my tastes and I couldn’t connect with the characters. Grab it from a library and give it a shot, though! 🙂

    Like

  3. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    There are a few of these I haven’t read yet either and can’t believe I haven’t gotten around to yet! Truthwitch and The Forbidden Kiss I need to start soon! 🙂
    But oh you should definitely read The Star-Touched Queen, The Raven King, The Love That Split the World, actually pretty much every other book on your list this week, soon 😀 They are all favourites of mine so I’m sure you’ll love them as well when you get around to them too.
    Great picks for this week! 🙂

    Like

  4. lindseyhabets says:

    I also still have to get to quite a lot of these 🙂 I only read Passenger, Truthwitch and The Winner’s Kiss and though I liked them all, I loved The Winner’s Kiss the most! Also, I’m totally with you on marathoning the entire Raven Boys quartet this summer 🙂

    Like

  5. Lois says:

    Damn school for keeping you away from the Raven King!! I’ve not even read The Winner’s Trilogy yet and I am already terrified for Kestrel and Arin. I’m not ready for the angst haha. Salt to the Sea was definitely a hit for me. I’d say if like time travel and you can tolerate a tediously slow paced book then I’d give Passenger a shot. It had a lot of potential to be a 5 star read but the pacing was just all over the place and that’s ultimately what let’s the book down.

    Like

  6. BeanCountingBookworm says:

    Ok, yeah, I’ve not read 7/10 of these. I think we have the same problem. If you want we could buddy read them to encourage each other to read them if you wanted hahahah

    But seriously, read the Raven King!

    Like

Leave a Reply

