Audiobook Review: Stardust

16793Stardust by Neil Gaiman

Series: Standalone

Published by William Morrow Paperbacks on August 29, 2006

Genres: Action & Adventure, Adult Fiction, Fairy Tales, Fantasy, Love & Romance, Magic, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Pages: 250

Format: Audiobook

Rating: 

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Young Tristran Thorn will do anything to win the cold heart of beautiful Victoria—even fetch her the star they watch fall from the night sky. But to do so, he must enter the unexplored lands on the other side of the ancient wall that gives their tiny village its name. Beyond that old stone wall, Tristran learns, lies Faerie—where nothing, not even a fallen star, is what he imagined.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman comes a remarkable quest into the dark and miraculous—in pursuit of love and the utterly impossible.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: ★.5

Entertainment Rating: ★.5

Overall Rating: 

Plot: Medium Paced | Unique & Intruiging | Fairytale Vibes | Slightly Predictable With An Unexpected Twist

Characters: Innocent & Loveable | Different From What I’ve Usually Read | Multi Dimensional | Fully Developed (All) | Complex & Well Thought Out

World Building: Portal To A Fantasy World | Travelling Elements | Easily Imaginable | Descriptive & Well Explained | Most Questions Answered

Writing: 3rd Person | AMAZING Audiobook Narration | Magical & Beautiful | One Of A Kind | Gimme More | All Time Faves

**********************************************************************

MY REVIEW: 

“Are we human because we gaze at the stars, or do we gaze at the stars because we are human?”

This isn’t going to be much of a review but rather an unapologetic gush because oh my god what did I just read? Stardust by Neil Gaiman was such an indescribable beautiful, gorgeous, magical book that despite sitting here for about an hour now, I cannot for the life of me put into words how much I loved, loved, loved this book.

Stardust follows the life of Tristan Throne, a young man who has only ever known the inside of the boundaries within their city wall. Living in a small village, life is pretty mundane until one day the love of his life, Miss Victoria Forrester promises to grant one of his wishes in exchange of Tristan fetching a fallen star. Determined to win her heart and maybe even her hand in marriage, Tristan decides to venture out into the unknown to find the said star, where faerie, among other magical creatures secretly lurk in the shadows.

 “It’s not hard to own something. Or everything. You just have to know that it’s yours, and then be willing to let it go.”

Right upon finishing this novel, I searched it on Goodreads and alas, the reviews were not nearly as high as I anticipated. The only reason I can possibly fathom is that these people didn’t audiobook Stardust. What a problem that was because this is by far MY ALL TIME FAVOURITE narration EVER. (Okay, I only listened to like 7 audiobooks in my life… But so what? This was beyond AMAZING) The narrator is Neil Gaiman, (that’s right, the author) which means the author is reading the book for us! (Duh Jenna duh *faceplams*) That was one the best ideas ever because the raw emotion Gaiman was able to portray for each of his characters was beyond fascinating. All of their voices spoke the way they were meant to speak, and each sentence was told the way it was originally meant to be told. Nothing was left out, even the smallest details, and every paragraph, every sentence, every word was etched forever into my memory.

Regardless of the format you choose to read Stardust, (though I would HIGHLY recommend the audiobook) the characters are permanently loveable and peculiar in the best kind of way. Tristan Thorne, our main protagonist was so innocent and different from the majority of teenage boys. (At least the ones I’ve come across anyway :P) He was clearly not the sharpest knife in the drawer yet his positive mindset of the harsh reality he lived in was endearing and quite frankly, adorable. His rather stubborn side when it came to getting the girl he liked drove the plot consistently forward and nothing was ever simple enough to deter his keen persistence. 

“He wondered how it could have taken him so long to realize he cared for her, and he told her so, and she called him an idiot, and he declared that it was the finest thing that ever a man had been called.”

The star I can’t mention much about without spoiling, (and this is a book you especially do not want to be spoiled for) but I will say that it’s presence was profound on Tristan with or without him ever realizing it. The other side characters reminded me of some famous fairy tale creatures, similar in their characteristics but different in a sense that I can’t exactly put my finger on. A few of my favourites included the girl with the violet eyes, Tristan’s mom, and the old witch, the last of which who frightened me on more than one occasion. Every role in the story made an impact on Tristan and regardless of who appeared on the page, I knew I was in for an interesting ride. 

Needless to say, the absolute BEST thing about Stardust was Neil Gaiman‘s writing. As soon as I read a page, I knew I was in for a real treat. His style is so utterly unique and utterly him that amongst all types of books, I knew I would immediately be able to recognize his stories as his own. Captivating, exquisite, gripping, magical and breathingtakingly beautiful. Those would be some (out of millions of) words that couldn’t even begin to properly capture my awe at his prose. The only thing I seriously regret now is not having reached for his works earlier. I need more of his writing as soon as possible (preferably at this very exact moment) because they are just as sweet as the air I breathe. (I live in Canada so let’s not argue about this, okay?!) 

“She says nothing at all, but simply stares upward into the dark sky and watches, with sad eyes, the slow dance of the infinite stars.”

All in all, Stardust was a book that was just as amazing as it’s name. From faerie to witches to kings and to queens, Gaiman takes you on an unforgettable journey to beyond the lands of Wall. If you believe, or want to believe in the unimaginable, join Tristan and I on this magical journey to a fantastical world that will capture the very essence and being of your soul. 

**********************************************************************

Have you read Stardust or are you planning to? For those of you who have seen it, do you recommend that I watch the movie? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

3 thoughts on “Audiobook Review: Stardust

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Despite how prolific Neil Gaiman is, I don’t believe I’ve actually read anything he wrote! I’ve seen the movie for Stardust, though – it’s very fairy-taley in the best possible way. Seems like I missed out on his writing, though.

    When you were listening to the audiobook for this one, were you doing something else? I’ve found that I can only listen to non-fic audiobooks as fiction books command all of my attention, especially fantasy/sci-fi/non-contemporary as I have to build the setting in my head, and I can’t focus enough on listening. D:

    Like

Leave a Reply

