The Diverse Books Tag : TBR Edition

The Diverse Books Tag

Happy Friday everyone! Today I’m going to tackle The Diverse Books Tag which I was tagged to answer by the lovely Reg @ She Latitude. For those of you bibliophiles who have never heard of Reg, what are you doing with your life?! (Just kidding haha) She is one of my absolute favourite book bloggers; her reviews are insightful and she always leaves the sweetest comments on my posts ❤ I know it’s not a Reg appreciation post so I’ll stop rambling… but seriously go check her out!

Anyways, for today I decided to go with some diverse books that were a) either on my TBR or b) are now on my TBR thanks to this tag! Though I pride in myself for being quite a diverse reader, I wanted to not only share what I have read but also help you discover more books that you might have not heard of before. (As if our TBRs aren’t going to crush us to death XD) All of the synopsis will be included in the post, so if any of these sound interesting to you, make sure to let me know in the comments!

122265864

**********************************************************************

A Book Starring a Lesbian Character

18667779

A love letter to the craft and romance of film and fate in front of—and behind—the camera from the award-winning author of Hold Still.
 
A wunderkind young set designer, Emi has already started to find her way in the competitive Hollywood film world.
 
Emi is a film buff and a true romantic, but her real-life relationships are a mess. She has desperately gone back to the same girl too many times to mention. But then a mysterious letter from a silver screen legend leads Emi to Ava. Ava is unlike anyone Emi has ever met. She has a tumultuous, not-so-glamorous past, and lives an unconventional life. She’s enigmatic…. She’s beautiful. And she is about to expand Emi’s understanding of family, acceptance, and true romance.

Everything Leads To You has been on my TBR for forever! I’ve actually never read a lesbian romance before, and because I’m so unfamiliar with it, I would definitely love to give it a shot.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Book with a Muslim Protagonist

20898019

Marvel Comics presents the new Ms. Marvel, the groundbreaking heroine that has become an international sensation!

Kamala Khan is an ordinary girl from Jersey City — until she’s suddenly empowered with extraordinary gifts. But who truly is the new Ms. Marvel? Teenager? Muslim? Inhuman? Find out as she takes the Marvel Universe by storm! When Kamala discovers the dangers of her newfound powers, she unlocks a secret behind them, as well. Is Kamala ready to wield these immense new gifts? Or will the weight of the legacy before her be too much to bear? Kamala has no idea, either. But she’s comin’ for you, Jersey!

I’m still extremely new to the graphic novel / comic format of reading but Ms. Marvel: No Normal sounds so unique for a superhero story! It features a female Muslim teenager, an aspect of diversity I know next to nothing about :O

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Book Set in Latin America

8621850

Born in an Andean village in Ecuador, Virginia lives with her large family in a small, earthen-walled dwelling. In her village of indígenas, it is not uncommon to work in the fields all day, even as a child, or to be called a longa tonta—stupid Indian—by members of the ruling class of mestizos, or Spanish descendants. When seven-year-old Virginia is taken from her village to be a servant to a mestizo couple, she has no idea what the future holds.
In this poignant novel based on a true story, acclaimed author Laura Resau has collaborated with María Virginia Farinango to recount one girl’s unforgettable journey to self-discovery. Virginia’s story will speak to anyone who has ever struggled to find his or her place in the world. It will make you laugh and cry, and ultimately, it will fill you with hope.

The fact that The Queen of Water is based on a true story definitely caught my attention when I was browsing through a list of diverse books. The reviews on Goodreads say that it is slightly graphic regarding topics of child abuse so if that’s something that triggers you, you may want to take a step back from this one.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Book About a Person With a Disability

running-dream

An award-winning and inspiring novel.  When Jessica’s dreams are shattered, she puts herself back together—and learns to dream bigger than ever before.

Jessica thinks her life is over when she loses a leg in a car accident. She’s not comforted by the news that she’ll be able to walk with the help of a prosthetic leg. Who cares about walking when you live to run?

As she struggles to cope with crutches and a first cyborg-like prosthetic, Jessica feels oddly both in the spotlight and invisible. People who don’t know what to say, act like she’s not there. Which she could handle better if she weren’t now keenly aware that she’d done the same thing herself to a girl with CP named Rosa. A girl who is going to tutor her through all the math she’s missed. A girl who sees right into the heart of her.

With the support of family, friends, a coach, and her track teammates, Jessica may actually be able to run again. But that’s not enough for her now. She doesn’t just want to cross finish lines herself—she wants to take Rosa with her.

I’ve always been fascinated by runners. Maybe it’s the fact that I can’t don’t run but when I see people getting up and running at 7AM on a Saturday morning, I’m shell shocked yet somewhat jealous of their self determination and will power. The Running Dream seems like not only a book about getting up when you fall, but also about the intricate relationship of two girls who have so much to fend for themselves.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Science-Fiction or Fantasy Book With a POC Protagonist

15819028

Chava is a golem, a creature made of clay, brought to life by a disgraced rabbi who dabbles in dark Kabbalistic magic. When her master, the husband who commissioned her, dies at sea on the voyage from Poland, she is unmoored and adrift as the ship arrives in New York in 1899.

Ahmad is a jinni, a being of fire, born in the ancient Syrian desert. Trapped in an old copper flask by a Bedouin wizard centuries ago, he is released accidentally by a tinsmith in a Lower Manhattan shop. Though he is no longer imprisoned, Ahmad is not entirely free – an unbreakable band of iron binds him to the physical world.

The Golem and the Jinni is their magical, unforgettable story; unlikely friends whose tenuous attachment challenges their opposing natures – until the night a terrifying incident drives them back into their separate worlds. But a powerful threat will soon bring Chava and Ahmad together again, challenging their existence and forcing them to make a fateful choice.

The Golem and The Jinni was admittedly a cover buy for me at a used bookstore, but the fact that it features mystical characters from both Judaic and Muslim cultures only just adds to my intrigue 😛 I’m super stoked about this one!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Book Written by an Indigenous or Native Author

6881eed3f57f35152cae7b85252d784d

Bestselling author Sherman Alexie tells the story of Junior, a budding cartoonist growing up on the Spokane Indian Reservation. Determined to take his future into his own hands, Junior leaves his troubled school on the rez to attend an all-white farm town high school where the only other Indian is the school mascot.

Heartbreaking, funny, and beautifully written, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, which is based on the author’s own experiences, coupled with poignant drawings by Ellen Forney that reflect the character’s art, chronicles the contemporary adolescence of one Native American boy as he attempts to break away from the life he was destined to live.

With a forward by Markus Zusak, interviews with Sherman Alexie and Ellen Forney, and four-color interior art throughout, this edition is perfect for fans and collectors alike.

Sherman Alexie is an author I have heard lots about but haven’t gotten around to trying out. The Absolutely True Diary Of A Part Time Indian sounds poignant and heartbreaking, with an added bonus of detailed artwork by Ellen Forney.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Book Set in South Asia

bookcover

A remarkable debut novel set in India that shows one girl’s struggle for independence.

During World War II and the last days of British occupation in India, fifteen-year-old Vidya dreams of attending college. But when her forward-thinking father is beaten senseless by the British police, she is forced to live with her grandfather’s large traditional family, where the women live apart from the men and are meant to be married off as soon as possible.

Vidya’s only refuge becomes her grandfather’s upstairs library, which is forbidden to women. There she meets Raman, a young man also living in the house who relishes her intellectual curiosity. But when Vidya’s brother decides to fight with the hated British against the Nazis, and when Raman proposes marriage too soon, Vidya must question all she has believed in.

Padma Venkatraman’s debut novel poignantly shows a girl struggling to find her place in a mixedup world. Climbing the Stairs is a powerful story about love and loss set against a fascinating historical backdrop.

As most of you already know, I am OBSESSED with books dealing with the WWII era. Climbing the Stairs is a historical fiction novel told from the perspective of a strong willed girl who lives in India during this tragic event.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Book with a Biracial Protagonist

6449290

This debut novel tells the story of Rachel, the daughter of a Danish mother and a black G.I. who becomes the sole survivor of a family tragedy. With her strict African American grandmother as her new guardian, Rachel moves to a mostly black community, where her light brown skin, blue eyes, and beauty bring mixed attention her way. Growing up in the 1980s, she learns to swallow her overwhelming grief and confronts her identity as a biracial young woman in a world that wants to see her as either black or white. In the tradition of Jamaica Kincaid’sAnnie John and Toni Morrison’s The Bluest Eye, here is a portrait of a young girl – and society’s ideas of race, class, and beauty.

I’ve seen the cover of The Girl Who Fell From The Sky quite a few times recently, but I had no idea that it was a book featuring a biracial protagonist! The only other book I read that had a biracial protagonist was the To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before duology by Jenny Han and c’mon, that wasn’t even the main part of the story 😛

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


A Book Starring a Transgender Character or Transgender Issues

13221769

“This is Beautiful Music for Ugly Children, on community radio 90.3, KZUK. I’m Gabe. Welcome to my show.”

My birth name is Elizabeth, but I’m a guy. Gabe. My parents think I’ve gone crazy and the rest of the world is happy to agree with them, but I know I’m right. I’ve been a boy my whole life.

When you think about it, I’m like a record. Elizabeth is my A side, the song everybody knows, and Gabe is my B side–not heard as often, but just as good.

It’s time to let my B side play.

Being a transgender teenager must be excruciatingly hard and because I haven’t read any books dealing with this topic, I am super interested in Beautiful Music For Ugly Children. Gabe / Elizabeth also wants to be a DJ when he / she grows up and that sounds like something I would totally want to learn more about 🙂

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


I’M FINISHED! NOW I’M GOING TO TAG:

Anette @ Anette Reads

Lois @ My Midnight Musing

Ari @ The Daydreaming Bookworm

Jesse @ Books At Dawn

Kat @ Life and Other Disasters 

Cristina @ My Tiny Obsessions

Joan @ Fiddler Blue

**********************************************************************

As always, if you have done this tag or you don’t want to, you can just ignore this ❤

giphy23

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

10 thoughts on “The Diverse Books Tag : TBR Edition

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    I also have Everything Leads to You on my TBR! The blurb sounds so interesting, and I like that the characters are not typically YA-aged?And Climbing the Stairs looks so intriguing as well, thanks for introducing me to that book.

    Thanks for doing the tag as well as for all your kind words! I really appreciate it. ❤

    Like

  2. Kat Impossible says:

    Everything Leads to You and Ms Marvel are both awesome! I hope you’ll enjoy them. I am scared of having a tough time finding something for all the categories, but thanks for tagging me 😀

    Like

  3. Anna @MyBookishDream says:

    Great post! I really enjoyed reading through your answers. Everything Leads To You has been on my TBR for ages as well. I haven’t read a lesbian love story either, but I do hope to pick this book up some time soon. 🙂

    Like

  4. Lois says:

    I like the sound of The Running Dream. I’ve read a few books that features this disability but I’ve never read it from the perspective of someone who’s future was invested in her ability to run. I’ll be sure to keep my eye on this book. Thanks for the tag. 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

