16 Candles, 16 Lessons Learned

I’m halfway through my teen years and I can’t believe it :O Today I turned sixteen so that means what, there’s only two more years till I’m an adult?! That’s just absolutely crazy!!! And because birthdays have always made me a bit sentimental, (with the knowledge of another YEAR flown by) I have decided to share with you sixteen lessons / pieces of advice I would have love to have given to my younger self.

giphy28

**********************************************************************

1. It’s never too late to start anything.

better_late_than_never_greeting_card-r93b20583345d4c7db3647641fcb9705d_xvuak_8byvr_324

A lot of the time, I beat myself up because I feel like I’m too late at starting something. But the thing is, it’s really never too late to do anything. Whether it be creating a blog *wink, wink*or joining the tennis team, as long as you have the passion for the activity, there is always time for you to participate.


2. Quality over quantity. Always.

scales-300x225

It’s easy mistaking having a lot of something as being higher in value than having a smaller amount. Yet when you really thing about it, if the quality sucks, the large quantity will be worth nothing in the end.


3. Every voice matters.

tumblr_m3rtyerfhz1qir45xo1_500

This is something I was really hesitant with before starting my blog. Often times you hear adults saying “you kids don’t know anything” or “what would you know, you’re just a kid” and while that may to a certain degree be true, it has always made me keep my mouth shut. Through my book blog and life in general, I learned that no matter the age, every perspective does matter and that each individual has the potential to make a large impact on society.


4. Comparison is the thief of joy.

chibirdcompare

Ahh this saying is absolutely everywhere but it’s SO TRUE. I don’t think there is anything worse you can do to yourself than comparing your looks, abilities, habits, successes, etc with the people around you. Comparison creates such a negative atmosphere filled with unnecessary jealousy and sometimes even hate. It’s just not worth it at the end of the day because we were born so differently and will always be different from one other.


5. Be passionate in all you do. 

park-with-passion-768x283

Is it just me that sometimes half a** things and expect really amazing results? *Ashamed* No matter how amazing your natural talent / ability to do something is, if there is no passion & effort put into the activity, there is absolutely no way you are going to get the endgame you think you deserve.


6. Nourish your body, mind and soul.

dv708017

This is the fundamental advice to taking care of yourself. If all three parts are properly nourished, there is really nothing stopping you from taking over the world ❤


7. It’s okay not to be okay.

tumblr_njrucedczo1tuwzk3o1_500

Though I’m all about the spread of positive vibes and energy, we also need to remember that it’s okay not to feel fantastic all the time. Being angry, scared, nervous, sad, embarrassed and frustrated unfortunately comes with being human and as long as you are eventually able to overcome those feelings, the sun will still be shining the next morning.


8. Life is full of multiple POVs.

33-eyes-pencil-drawing

Nothing in life is crystal clear. All situations are filled with multiple POVs, (especially in times of conflict) and it’s important to take a step back and look through the eyes of someone else. This simple step can prevent so many arguments and miscommunications that happen not only in the lives of our beloved fictional characters, but also in our own.


9. Dreams can change.

thankfully-dreams-can-change-if-wed-all-stuck-with-our-first-dream-the-world-403x403-nk1vlj

Sometimes the things we want change as the moments in our lives begin to alter our experiences. The job you so desperately wanted in fifth grade might not be your dream career anymore or you may realize that engineering is not your true passion. Whatever the case may be, this is 100% normal and it is okay to want to pursue something completely different than what you thought you had wanted before.


10. The process is just as important as the result.

tumblr_o5ctejolwa1udh5n8o1_500

Everyone always eagerly asks about the endgame… but for me, I find that the process is just as, if not more important than the result. After all, without the mistakes and the lessons learned from the times of trial and error, who knows if we would have ever gotten to the place we are currently in?


11. Remember who is worth your time and who isn’t.

tumblr_inline_o2lbloe9js1tt5e1v_500

I struggle a lot when people unexpectedly walk out of my life but I recently learned that some people are just not worth my time and effort. Instead, I want to focus on giving my all to those who truly matter and will be there for me till the end.


12. Things happen at their own time. Be patient.patience

Patience is such a crucial component of life yet it also seems to be the one that is the most easily disregarded. As much as we want it to, hardly anything happens exactly at the moment we want them to happen and often times, things go right in the opposite direction. Despite all of this, we need to remember that patience gives us some of life’s most unexpected gifts and trust that things will happen at their own time.


13. Live in the moment for every second of your life.

happy-jump-blog

You hear the saying Carpe Diem everywhere you go but the reason that it is so widespread is because it’s a piece of advice worth listening to. You never know whether or not you will live to see the next day, (I hope I didn’t scare you too much :P) so I’m really trying to make the best out of each moment in my day.


14. Gratitude is everything.giphy30

Following the last piece of advice, I learned that there is always something to be grateful for. Recently I have been keeping a journal (FINALLY!) and listing 5 things I’m thankful for every single day. It has really helped me open my eyes to even the smallest of things and now, I am proud to say that I notice details most people wouldn’t give a second glance to. 


15. Everyone you meet knows something you don’t.11666057_1113390385356064_1019593361023716299_n

This is a quote by the infamous Bill Nye and one that has stuck with me since I was a small child. Regardless of a person’s background, race, religion, colour, education, family, social status, their experiences have taught them something I never knew before. And if I have enough courage to keep an open mind, I will easily be able to learn something every time I come across a stranger. 


16. Flaws & imperfections are what makes us beautiful. As hard as it can be, love yourself.giphy31

I saved the best and personally, the most important for last. This piece of advice is something I’m still working on each and everyday. With our current society today, it is so hard to love us as the unique individuals that we are. There are magazines with stick thin models and “how to lose 10 pounds in a week” ads everywhere we go. But the thing is, our flaws and imperfections make who we are. And as cliche as it may sound, no one is absolutely perfect (regardless of what the media says) and that’s what makes our world so beautiful. Accept yourself, and maybe even love yourself so that everyone else can too.

**********************************************************************

What are some lessons you learned as you got older? Do you have any words of wisdom you would like to share with me? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

giphy27

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

6 thoughts on “16 Candles, 16 Lessons Learned

  1. Reg @ She Latitude says:

    Happy sixteenth birthday, Jenna! Look at you already learning stuff I’m learning now in my twenties, haha – hope you have a fabulous birthday and have a great year ahead. ❤

    And I can relate so much to #11. One of my high school best friends has almost completely faded from my life now for various reasons and I had a really hard time dealing with that. It's true, though, that some people are just not worth your time and effort. My general rule now is that a friendship has to be two-way. If the other party can't be bothered, let it go.

    And #12 is so true too. I'm REALLY impatient, so it's good to be reminded that it does take time for progress to show and for results to be achieved. I'm all about instant gratification, haha. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

