Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated Gems

Top Ten Tuesday

Welcome back to another Top Ten Tuesday! Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely people at BrokeandBookish. This week’s topic is all about the underrated gems that we have found during our reading experience. Underrated books are seriously something I love to talk about, and because of my involvement in the book community, I also recently have become the admin of The Golden Bibliophiles, a Goodreads book club dedicated to finding and promoted underrated books! (Make sure to go join the group and also follow the instagram account for more updates ❤ Also, click here for a more detailed explanation about the group.) The books I chose for this week are either books I have already read and feel deserves more love or ones that I have on my high priority TBR. So let’s get started 😀

giphy2

**********************************************************************

1. The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynthia Hand

17285330

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Though I have been recently reading a lot of books dealing with mental illness and suicide, The Last Time We Say Goodbye was one that has really stuck with me for a long time. Hauntingly beautiful, I easily gave it the full five stars. Spoiler free review here.


2. Stolen by Lucy Christopher

Tumblr_kwjzp86kzD1qajvuvo1_500

Stolen by Lucy Christopher is one of those unique books told not only from a second person perspective but also one that unfolds the story of Gema, a young girl who was kidnapped by her long time stalker. Although it is very short in length, the actual story feels rather dense with captivating and thoughtprovoking moments.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


3. Unwind by Neal Shusterman

unwind

Unwind is rather an odd choice for this Top Ten Tuesday as I have yet to start this trilogy, but Neil Shusterman has always been an author I wanted to give a proper shot. The synopsis sounds ultimately thrilling and if any of you have read it, I would love to hear your thoughts (positive or negative) in the comments below!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


4. Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman

17668473

Ahh yes… We cannot talk about underrated gems without Prisoner of Night and Fog by Anne Blankman. With the premise of a WWII novel told from the “niece” of Hitler, I really don’t understand why more people haven’t picked this one up 😦

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


5. Angelfall by Susan Eegiphy

The Angelfall trilogy is the one and only angel themed book I have read so far, but I absolutely ADORED it ❤ The characters are amazing, the plot is fast paced and everything that happens is darker than you would ever expect. 100% worth checking out!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


6. All The Rage by Courtney Summers

218536361

Again, a book I have yet to read but All The Rage by Courtney Summers has nothing but fantastic reviews on Goodreads. Books dealing with sexual abuse / rape seems a little (actually A LOT) on the hard side to read about, but because of how (unfortunately) frequently they happen, I would really like some more insight on the impact it has on a victim.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


7. I’ll Meet You There by Heather Demetrios

515tnk8dp1l-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Following with the last choice, Heather Demetrios’ I’ll Meet You There has recently been getting more and more recognition for it’s impactful illustration of PTSD. Though it has been frequently reviewed online, I hardly hear anybody actually talk about it on their social media accounts. I already own a copy of this one, so I definitely cannot to get to it soon!

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


8. Summer of Supernovas by Darcy Woodstumblr_m2nz2ozu2s1qkb6keo1_500

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

Summer of Supernovas was such a perfectly adorable summer time read! Everything from the title to the characters scream light, fluffy contemporary, so make sure to pick this one up before heading off to the beach 😀 Spoiler free review here.


9. Yellow by Megan Jacobson

25698127

Yellow by Megan Jacobson was The Golden Bibliophiles‘ BOTM in May but because of how rare this book is, most of us (including me) couldn’t find it early enough to purchase and read it before the finish date. However, as I still have it on my immediate TBR, I decided to pop it as number nine on this list.

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository


10. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein51pr5e6ncdl

WHY are there so many underrated books that I still have yet to read? Yet again, Code Name Verity is a historical novel set in WWII (because give me all the historical fiction, seriously XD) that features two best friends, one of whom is captured and questioned by their enemy. Sounds terrifying yet exhilarating… right?!?

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

**********************************************************************

And we are finished! Those are some underrated books you should all check out. What are some of your favourite reads that you found to be underrated? Let me know in the comments below ❤

giphy1

Thanks for reading xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Underrated Gems

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    I LOOOVED Stolen so much. It’s one of my all time favourite books. So many of these are on my TBR! I especially want to read All the Rage, Code Name Verity and Unwind. I can’t believe Code Name Verity has under 2k ratings! I’ve seen it everywhere on blogs and Booktube. Prisoner of Fog and Night and Yellow are also ones I’m interested in. Yellow is an Aus YA so that makes me want to read it even more.

    Like

  2. mebookaholic says:

    I haven’t heard any of these books and I’m so happy to read your posts because I made new discoveries now to dig in!
    One book that I definitely this is unappreciated by the book community is Stolen Songbird. I loved this fantasy book and I don’t see it a lot on blogs.

    Like

  3. transhaan says:

    The Last Time we say goodbye is a new discovery for me !! 🙆🙆 Thank you for that 🙂 and Unwind Im excited to read it too heard a lot about that book 🙌🙌-Trang

    Like

  4. Aralyn says:

    Great list! I’ll have to check some of these books out!
    And YES, Unwind! It’s been about 5 years since I read it, but I remember loving it. I recently bought the box set, just haven’t read them all yet. It was a cool concept and great characters from what I remember.
    Angelfall is a gem in the angel genre! Unexpected angel brutality is a yes for me.

    Like

  5. lindseyhabets says:

    Great list! I’m really interested to read I’ll Meet You There and Stolen soon. And I joined The Golden Bibliophiles on Goodreads because I’d love to discover some more hidden gems 🙂

    Like

  6. Beth (Reading Every Night) says:

    Great picks for this week! I’ve recently added I’ll Meet You There after seeing some amazing reviews for it, on Goodreads and WordPress, so I can’t wait to get started on that one! Plus Angelfall is one of my all-time favourite books! I definitely think the whole series needs more recognition because it is amazing! 😀

    Like

  7. Lois says:

    I’ll Meet You There remains to one of my all time favourite contemporaries. I basically shove that book onto everyone haha. It explores such an important topic and the emotions in the book are so raw and realistic. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.
    Stolen sounds like a book I’ll enjoy. I’m not one that usually goes for second person narratives but sometimes I find that narrative to be highly effective in highlighting the circumstances of the character and the story so I’ll be sure to check that one out. 😀

    Like

  8. Diana Prince Reviews says:

    Oh my god, Code Name Verity has less than 2,000 ratings on Goodreads? It’s so fantastic! I’m shocked it’s so low. I haven’t heard of a ton of these, I’ll have to check them out soon. I honestly think this is one of my favorite TTT’s because of all the new books going on my TBR. Check out mine for this week here: https://dianaprincereviews.wordpress.com/2016/07/05/top-ten-tuesday-books-i-enjoyed-that-have-under-2000-ratings-on-goodreads/

    Like

Leave a Reply

