Mini Book Reviews: Unite Me (Destroy Me, Fracture Me)

Book Reviews (1)

18481271Unite Me (Fracture Me & Destroy Me) by Tahereh Mafi

Series: The Shatter Me Series #1.5, #2.5

Published by Harper Teen on February 4, 2014

Genres: Dystopian, Fantasy, Fiction, Love & Romance, Paranormal, Post Apocalyptic, Science Fiction, Young Adult

Format: Paperback, Purchased

Pages: 197

Rating: (Destroy Me) | (Fracture Me)

Goodreads | Amazon | Book Depository

SYNOPSIS:

Perfect for fans of Tahereh Mafi’s New York Times bestsellingShatter Me trilogy, this book collects her two companion novellas, Fracture Me and Destroy Me, in print for the first time ever. It also features an exclusive look into Juliette’s journal and a preview of Ignite Me, the hotly anticipated final novel of the series.

Destroy Me tells the events between Shatter Me and Unravel Mefrom Warner’s point of view. Even though Juliette shot him in order to escape, Warner can’t stop thinking about her—and he’ll do anything to get her back. But when the Supreme Commander of The Reestablishment arrives, he has much different plans for Juliette. Plans Warner cannot allow.

Fracture Me is told from Adam’s perspective and bridges the gap between Unravel Me and Ignite Me. As the Omega Point rebels prepare to fight the Sector 45 soldiers, Adam’s more focused on the safety of Juliette, Kenji, and his brother. The Reestablishment will do anything to crush the resistance . . . including killing everyone Adam cares about.

The Shatter Me series is perfect for fans who crave action-packed young adult novels with tantalizing romance like Divergent andThe Hunger Games. This captivating story, which combines the best of dystopian and paranormal, was praised as “a thrilling, high-stakes saga of self-discovery and forbidden love” by Ransom Riggs, bestselling author of Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children.

**********************************************************************

RATINGS:

Critical Rating: (Destroy Me) | ★ (Fracture Me)

Entertainment Rating: ★.25 (Destroy Me) | ★ (Fracture Me)

Overall Rating: (Destroy Me) | (Fracture Me)

Plot:  Not Enough Pages For Depth (Novella) | Intruiging | Different Perspective of The Same World

Characters: Explores A Different Side of Villains | Multi Dimensional | Understandable & Heart wrenching | Much Less Annoying (except for dear, old Adam)

World Building: Dystopian Setting | Kind of Feels Underdeveloped | More Information Please

Writing: 1st Person POV | Absolutely Stunning | Poetic (Continuous usage of metaphors and other literary devices) | Not For Everyone (Hit or Miss Style) | Unique For YA

**********************************************************************

MY REVIEW: 

Destroy Me (Shatter Me #1.5):

Well… This was my first time reading a novella and I did not know that novellas were supposed to be that good :O Destroy Me absolutely solidified my Team Warner feelings rock hard and I doubt I will ever give Adam a second glance.

This short story takes place right after the events of Shatter Me and just before Unravel Me begins. I mainly read it as a preparation for a whirlwind of feelings that I was sure was going to occur during the second book. Little did I know, Warner’s perspective managed to swoon me to no end and I actually developed sympathy for him rather than just liking him cause he was an amazing villain. 

Within his perspective, we get to explore Warner’s true intentions and feelings towards Juliette. While he may appear creepy and a bit stalkerish in Shatter Me, this novella perfectly portrays the reasons behind his actions and manages to tear readers apart from Adam’s side. His horrible family background is explored and the vulnerability that Warner unintentionally reveals is heartbreaking, yet simultaneously opens the door to a much needed second chance.

Writing wise, Tahereh Mafi’s way of telling her story is still absolutely beautiful. Though it is not for everyone, I really enjoyed the intricate metaphors and descriptions she used in her story. It is definitely a style that is very rarely seen in YA fiction and the uniqueness of it easily captured me within the grasps of her writing. I also preferred reading from Warner’s perspective a lot more than I did Juliette’s. He was far less annoying than our whiny female protagonist and male POVS are something I usually treasure.

Overall, Destroy Me was a short but captivating novella that introduced a deeper and more emotional side of our seemingly cold hearted villain. Though it is not a mandatory read, I would strongly encourage those who either love Warner or are unsure about him to give this one a go. It will most certainly strengthen the love you have for Mafi’s writing and the intricacy of her characters.

Fracture Me (Shatter Me #2.5):

Fracture Me was quite honestly a book (or rather a novella) that I didn’t really want to read.

**********************************************************************

Have you read Unite Me (Destroy Me & Fracture Me) or are you planning to? What did you think of it? Let me know your thoughts in the comments!

Thanks for reading lovelies xoxo,

-Jenna <3-

Find me here!

INSTAGRAMGOODREADS | BLOGLOVIN

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s